May 2016 Favorites: In which I indulge in Everything Korean

favorites, Monthly Favorites, Uncategorized

May alternated between really fun and exciting to almost frustratingly boring. There were periods where I just lazed around doing nothing and then other times, I had so much to do. This was just the last time I had to really spend time with my friends before we head off into the “real” world (my graduation is this Saturday..*starts breathing really heavily*). I had such a great time at my school’s Spring Splash concert. The lineup was awesome. The Naked and the Famous performed which was kind of like my dream come true because I’ve been a fan of them since high school. Although why I didn’t get a picture of them is beyond me.

spring splash

Spring Splash stage

Some of my other favorite performers were Trey Songz (he played all his slow songs), TY Dolla Sign, and RL Grime (he was sooo good)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May was a very music-y month in general which is weird because I’m the type of person to just become obsessed with 4 songs a month and listen to them over and over again until I get sick of them. But even more interesting is that I listened to a bunch of kpop this month which if you know me well is not something that happens very often. I even learned what the word “bias” means in kpop fandom. My friend introduced me to Apink’s The Wave this month which I loved. But then, he told me that Jeong Eunji (who was the lead in Reply 1997 aka one of my fave kdramas) came out with a solo mini album “Dream” and I listened to it and oh man, do I love this album. It’s one of those rare albums where you love every single song. I’m just honestly so mesmerized by her voice. She just drags out words with just the right amount and it’s so strong but so clear..ugh I love it. My favorites from the album are:

Home

Hopefully Sky

The music video is so soothing and whimsical…

and It’s Ok

Can I just say flawless??

Besides Apink, I have been loving BTS‘s new releases: Forever Young, Fire, and Save Me. Fire wins for favorite song (and weirdest music video, like why is that guy ironing the guy’s shirt that’s still on him???)

Save Me definitely wins for best choreography. It’s so precise and controlled but so graceful at the same time. Love it.

I also did not know khiphop was a thing until I looked at the spotify playlist and started listening to Okey Dokey.

It is so catchy and energetic. Also, sidenote, one of the lyrics in English is “I want cheesecake”. Do I even want to know the context?

Continuing my trend of loving Korean culture, I also ate a lot of Korean food. I went to a tofu house in Koreatown. I think I just love Korean side dishes in general and how you can just mix everything together and it would taste great regardless like bibimbap.

 

And of course, kbbq. Bulgogi and brisket for life. Also goodbye money..

And what is Korean culture without a korean drama? Coincidentally out of all the TV and movies I watched, a korean drama just happened to be my favorite this month. I did not plan this guys. But anyways, congratulations to my favorite TV show this month, Signal, for pulling at my heartstrings BUT also winning Best Screenplay, Best Actress, and Best Drama at the 52nd Baeksang Awards. I stayed up till 6am watching the livestream of this. This is literally the only allnighter I’ve pulled in my four years of college. But anyways, Signal seriously deserves all the praise. A mystery thriller with a touch of magical realism that was so suspenseful but so touching. I write all my rambly thoughts about it here.

The rest of my month was going to some formal events with my fraternity including initiation and banquet. The banquet was to celebrate the seniors’ graduation and our progress this quarter.

banquet1

We joined as freshmen and 4 years later, here we are :’)

 

It was bittersweet going to my last formal event as an undergrad which seems to be a theme for this month.

Misc Favorites

Music

Jumpman by Drake

Pop Style by Drake

Can’t Stop the Feeling by Justin Timberlake

Chainsaw by Nick Jonas

Beauty

Micellar Cleaning Water (actually makeup melting)

 

Trailers

Star Trek: Beyond

I have to mention Star Trek 3: Beyond trailer because it’s gonna be epic and because confession so far I’m liking the Star Trek movies more than The Force Awakens..please don’t kill me.

I’m so sorry if this post was just overload of music and Youtube videos for you but I couldn’t seem to narrow down my favorites..Let me know how your May went and what music you’ve been listening to or basically anything that went down in May, I want to know =)

20 thoughts on “May 2016 Favorites: In which I indulge in Everything Korean

  1. First: congratulations on your graduation! *Confetti!* 😀

    I’m exactly the same type of music-listener, with the whole obsessively listening to a few songs for weeks on end thing. (It helps if there’s great choreography; I invariably lock on to the best dancer of the group, and can’t take my eyes off them.)

    You’ve officially made me hungry with your food-talk (Korean bbq, yes please), and I’m adding Signal to my to-watch list.

    So glad to hear you had such a good month! I hope June is just as great, if not better. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! =) Ikr good choreography really takes an mv to another level.
      Hhehe, I love kbbq and I hadn’t had it in months so that just made it taste better haha
      And omg, when you watch Signal, you must tell me so we can talk about it!! 😀
      Thank you! I hope you have a great June as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad you had a good month! Congratulations on your upcoming graduation! I wish you the best! 😀 I loved “Fire” by BTS. My friend at work is a super-fan of the group so now she got me hooked onto their music. Surprisingly, I haven’t listened to Eunji’s solo yet, but I do like A-Pink. I also listen to the K-Hip Hop station on Spotify. Do you like Zion.T or Crush at all? I can’t wait to do some major binge watching of K-dramas this summer. I’m so behind on what’s new!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, thank you! :’) That actually means a lot to me. You must listen to them!! They’re so good. I even watched an unboxing of the Dream mini album and her photobook is freaking gorgeous; I want it so badly. I mean all the Apink albums and photobooks are gorgeous imo. And no I have not heard of Zion or Crush but I’ll definitely listen to them now!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. YEAH STAR TREKKKK (Montgomery Scott is fab). Those are some really nice quality photos. Look at all those korean MVs, I might have to listen to them some day when no one is around. HAH.
    Anyways, congrats on graduating.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. CONGRATULATIONS (for graduating), Carolyn!! 🎉🎉🎈(I guess it’s a little early, but I’ll say it again if you decide to mention it in your June wrap up, lol.) And omg, you all look so cute and beautiful in the formal photo (totally meaning that in a noncreepy way-omg, I hope that didn’t make it sound creepy)… And love that little black dress! 😍 And omg, I had no idea you were into BTS! Or is it this comeback that you love? (Exo actually made a comeback today and I’m obsessed already…) And lol, for me, BigBang wins for the weirdest MVs…. 😂 Also I’ve been listening to too much Zico lately as well. I’m going to definitely add one of his songs for June favorites. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Summer!!! *blows kiss* Lol I was literally thinking about that yesterday, I should have just mentioned my graduation in June but it was on my mind so..
      And awww thanks :’) no it doesn’t sound creepy at all..
      Well I actually haven’t listened to any of BTS’s other songs LOL so yes the comeback. Lol are you talking about Monster? Because I’m watching the mv right now and the colors are so trippy, but I like it lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I’m already a die hard fan of Exo’s so I feel like any comeback will never make me disappointed… But I’ve really been listening to Monster and Lucky One so, so much… I kind of go crazy when Exo comes back. (I’ve been watching every single live show of their promoting songs, I preordered their albums (there were four this time because of the Lucky One/Monster concepts and in Korean and Mandarin) so they’d count towards their chart scores, rewetting the Monster MV to raise views, etc.) All my book funds are going to Exo for June. 😅 (I was working so much to get ready for this comeback, loL 😂) I guess Exo fans are no joke, lol. But glad that you find the song catchy! Also, my favorite songs by BTS are I Need U and Dope in case you want to check their old songs.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I honestly want to like kpop just so I can fangirl over the photobooks LOL. Oh that’s interesting, are the albums in Korean and Mandarin different pictures of them?
        I don’t really care for Dope but I like I Need U! They’re all so young looking

        Liked by 1 person

      3. They do have different photobooks (and photo cards). I actually haven’t bought any albums before. I was gifted a Beast one when my friend went to Korea and I won some from Mnet giveaways when I was a bigger Kpopper a few years ago. But mostly I just buy Exo’s songs via iTunes. I’m really excited to own a physical album of theirs this time though!

        And I totally understand. I think I’m more enamored by Dope because of the dancing than anything else. The song itself is too annoying for me to listen on its own (like those duck sounding instruments is just too much). And hehe, I Need U is my favorite. Though, I also like Butterfly which wasn’t a song they promoted but was on their latest album release.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. OH MY GOSH. Actually I haven’t heard this, but I love it! T.T And lol, I got both of my Lucky One albums in the mail; I received Suho and D.O as my photo cards. They’re not even in my top six Exo members… Sigh, oh well. I still have my Monster albums left.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment