Uncategorized · wrap up

January 2017 Wrap Up

I hate January because it’s the weird slump after the holidays when you realize all the festivities are over and you have to go back to real life. It also always feels like the longest month even though there are other months that have 31 days. I had a pretty ordinary January so I won’t be doing a favorites this month, I’m just going to combine it with my February favorites. And now, the books.

Image result for dragon flight book
3/5

The first book of 2017 I read was: Dragon Flight by Jessica Day George

This is the sequel to Dragon Slippers that I read last month. I don’t know what happened but the things I thought were endearing and charming in the last book grew to be irritating and annoying in this one. I think it’s because the characters were now a little too kitschy and gimmicky. Overall, it was still cute and fun but didn’t have that same charm as Book one. I still recommend the first book if you’re looking for a cute pick-me-up.

 

I then finally read a Sarah Waters book: The Little Stranger

Image result for the little stranger
3.5/5

I first wanted to read this because I was looking for a gothic novel set in a creepy mansion that may or may not have a ghost in it. And I got that..somewhat. I loved the descriptions of the mansion and all its mysterious rooms and hallways. What I didn’t love so much was the repetitiveness. One of the characters in the book would tell Dr. Faraday, the main character, that some weird shit was happening and they were really scared and they would think it’s a supernatural entity but then Dr. Faraday would deny this and the cycle would repeat over and over again (esp in the last half of the book). GIRL, let me enlighten you: IT’S A GHOST. Also, the author spoonfed me everything that the characters were thinking so they grew kind of bland. It was also way too long for it to keep the suspense it was trying so hard to build up. But overall, I’d still recommend it (with reservations) for a historical fiction ghost story (it’s not really that scary). I still intend to read Fingersmith by this author; it seems well-received.

Luna: New Moon by Ian Mcdonald

Image result for luna new moon
3.5/5

I don’t like to use the whole “this book is x meets x” but I’m going to break my own rule. If we can remember that this is its own book, I am going to say that it has a lot of similarities to Game of Thrones. So basically Game of Thrones on the moon. It follows a huge cast of characters that all have ulterior motives; they’re all vying for power for their families; there’s sex; there’s violence; a cut throat world. Perfect HBO bait. And I actually liked it. I thought the worldbuilding on the moon was super interesting because there are no rules. Everything is based on contract and negotiation and people’s lives are based on how much oxygen they have. It took me a minute to warm up to these characters because we had to know so many and the way Macdonald writes the third person is really detached but I did end up engaged. The cast of characters are diverse in ethnicity (the main family is Brazilian) and there’s an equal balance of male and female players and the female players are respected for different reasons (happily, no rape plot device).

 

The rest of the novels I have reviews for. I read two books that explored rape culture and everyday sexism. One I loved, the other not so much. Click on the pictures to be linked to my reviews =)

Image result for asking for itImage result for the female of the species

 

I have a huge graphic novel recommendations post coming within the month where I’ll write more about these two graphic novels. Let me know if you have any specific types of graphic novels you want me to recommend, I’d be happy to oblige!

Something New: Takes from a Makeshift Bride by Lucy Knisley

Image result for something new lucy knisley
4/5

Beautiful Darkness by Fabien Vehlmann & Kerascoet

Image result for beautiful darkness
3/5

What books did you read this January? And again, if you have any genre or types of graphic novel recommendations that you would like me to mention in my recs post, let me know! I hope you all have a wonderful February 🙂

sig

2 thoughts on “January 2017 Wrap Up

  1. Impressive list-nice work! And we agree on the pitfalls of January; the only saving grace for us is that we were born in it :). Thanks for the read

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

