Misc · Uncategorized

New Year, New Me?

personal1

If 2016 was about anything, it was about the most dreaded word in my life, right behind death (jk) and that’s pat. I don’t think I’ve ever been a very patient person and when I feel like I’m lagging behind, I fall into acts of desperation until I do get it and then when I do I wonder why I’ve been rushing all along and by then I’ve thought of an alternative that would’ve fit me better #thestruggleissoreal. pat2 has gotten even harder for me this year. While I was in my final classes of uni, I felt impatient. After I graduated in June, I felt impatient. When I got a job in August as a tutor I felt impatient. When I was with my dad at his doctor’s appointment, I felt pat3. But what I was impatient for, I couldn’t tell you. And it finally hit me. I was waiting to be…somewhere. It was just this weird feeling of restlessness and feeling that I’m not where I’m suppose to be in my life or I should have been there by now but I haven’t. But I realized I was putting pat4 into end goals. Even now as I write this, I’m already planning on applying to PA programs this year and it feel as though that will be the end all be all even though and that everything will be fine once I get there even though I know that it is not.

Somewhere along the way, I caught on to this waiting game and I waited productively. If I’m always struggling to achieve something, I might as well enjoy the journey.

But here I am, 2016 wasn’t all bad as I’d like to think, I finally got a pat5, I’m interviewing for another pat6 I really want before I apply, I have amazing pat7 (both irl and in the blogosphere) who must have a lot of patience if I’m their friend (lol) and I still have so many things I want to do and I’m coming to 2017 hoping that I’ll get to them.

In 2016, I met my goal of pat8 more which has kind of changed my life and I’m hoping to work out at least three times a week this year. I also accomplished most of the goals I set for 2016 (albeit there weren’t that many) including taking Anatomy during my gap year and eating less junk food when I’m snacking.

This year, I hope to continue that. As always, I’m hoping I’ll seize any opportunity coming my way, have a little patience with myself, and here’s to a better year!

read

This year I found that setting read1 for myself like read classics by these authors or reading at least 10 sequels is read2 in any way because I just tend to read whatever the hell I want. What does work however is giving myself read3 like reading diversely and I find that I always keep these in mind when I go to the library or when I’m picking what to read next. So my read4 are:

  • Read 70 books. (I always safely surpass this no matter what kind of year it is for me, so I’m sticking with 70 books)
  • Read more types of literature such as essay and short story collections.
  • So many of the books I read are recommendations I find from Booktube or other blogs. I want to find more books on my own whether through searching through Goodreads or other places besides blogs and Youtube.
  • Read more underrated books. (by underrated I mean around 3000 or less ratings on Goodreads). I find myself not really clicking with a lot of hyped books and I find that my interests are kind of niche sometimes so why not seek out books that always fly under the radar?
  • Read as diversely as possible (in format, in content, and in perspective)

blog1

Sometimes maintaining my blog in 2016 was frustrating in the sense that I sometimes I felt as though I tried really hard on a blog post but end up with only four people liking it whereas on a post I spent much less time, I would get way more likes. People like what people like and it’s just the nature of the blogging beast. I just want to remind myself that blogging should be first and foremost about my thoughts and opinions. I still love blogging with my entire heart and I’m more blog2 than ever to write in the coming year. One thing I am changing though and you will probably have noticed this if you’ve been following my blog for the last couple of months, my blog has turned into this mishmash of blogging about books but more and more often I’ll write about what I’m watching. What I had originally planned was for this blog to be 90% books and 10% everything else. But I realized I want it to be more of an equal balance, more like 60% books and 40% movies/TV. So in 2017, you’re going to see more reviews and discussions on the things I’m blog3 (in fact I’m already planning on doing a Sherlock Season 4 discussion post ;). I’m really excited for this change and I hope you will be too :). In 2017, I would also love to do more blog4 post. I sometimes feel like I wrap up everything I read and watch in a huge post and give special attention to my favorites but I’d like to give more attention to the ones in between. I also would love to do more discussion posts. As you might have noticed, I started doing some blog5 on my blog and that will continue into the next couple of months. I’m always looking to improve my blog6 on my headers and banners so in 2017, I’m hoping to learn more about graphic design. I usually use photos on the internet to supply the image for my banner and header but I’m really hoping to incorporate more personal book pictures into my posts.

Wow, this post took more out of me than I thought. I’m just going to go drink my strawberry smoothie now and read and start The Crown tonight. 2017, I’m putting my faith in you! And to all of you reading, I sincerely hope you have a wonderful and amazing 2017 full of opportunity, love and fun. 

sigfinal

 

 

Leave a Reply

