favorites · Monthly Favorites · Uncategorized

November 2016 Reflections/Favorites

So how was everyone’s Thanksgiving? Mine was a total fucking disaster (family fights for the win!) but I’m not going to wallow in self-pity this month. I’m going to give thanks because that’s what November is about and to remember most of us have it a lot better than the pilgrims and Native Americans did before that first Thanksgiving (now you feel better right? Jk I don’t so we’re going to move on). But seriously,the lovely people in my life deserve all the love that this world has to give them. But I also want to give thanks to the entertainment in my life from books to movies to food that have given me so much comfort and happiness in my daily life. And I’ll also give a bit of thanks to my favorites this month.

-This year in particular as you might have known I did graduate from university. I know I mention this quite a bit on my blog but I will forever be eternally grateful for this experience.

-I’m immensely thankful for my brother and sister who are infinitely more patient and selfless than I am. I know they’ve always got my back and I’ve always got theirs so it works ya know?

-I also have to give the biggest shoutout to my closest friends. It’s rare that you find people that understand your situation and will always be there for optimistic support but are also there to laugh with you through life. It’s one of those things where they know exactly when you need to get out of the house, what kind of memes and gifs you find the funniest, and can just talk about things even if you haven’t seen each other in a while. I write and maintain a freaking blog as a hobby and words still can’t truly describe how much they mean to me. And some of them will actually read and comment on your blog! LOL What more can I ask for? *winkwink*

-I spend a lot of time reading (you didn’t know?), and watching movies and TV shows and Youtube creators. Thanks for shaping my ideas and beliefs and being outspoken about your own beliefs. To all the creators, you are my inspiration. To all the books, movies, and TV shows I’ve enjoyed this year, thank you, thank you, thank you.

And last but most definitely not least, I want to thank all of my followers who have decided to follow and like my posts in my little corner of the internet. To my frequent commenters, you make my blogging experience special. I hope you all have gotten as much out of my blog as I have out of yours =)

Moving on to favorites, I’ve seriously been in the mood for pumpkin pie which is weird because I’ve never liked pumpkin pie until about 2 years ago and now I’m obsessed.

PS: Between Albertson’s pumpkin pie vs Trader Joe’s, Trader Joe’s definitely wins.

pump
Expect a lot of photoshoots with this Christmas tree in December. Also, pretend that’s the Trader Joe’s pumpkin pie and not the Albertson’s one. 

Starbucks also had their BOGO holiday drink special and I didn’t think I’d like the peppermint mocha because I don’t like minty food unless it’s toothpaste (wait that’s not a food) but I ended up surprising myself and really liking it.

star
It’s soooo good!

I know this is basic but I’ve literally been wearing leggings nonstop this month and will probably continue to do so in December. A word of advice: I love my pair from Forever 21. They’re so affordable ($4!) but so long-lasting and comforting. It’s not a scam!!

Classic Cotton-Blend Leggings
Credits to the Forever21 website

And last but not least, music!

I watched Mamamoo’s music video Decalcomanie and they instantly became my girl crushes. I think my favorite by them so far is Um Oh Ah Yeh. I completely love their music style. They have regular pop, some jazz and R&B influences, and rap. I also love them because they have more edgy concepts which was really refreshing to me.

I’ve also been listening to Taeyeon’s new song 11:11 which just emphasizes her clear and soothing vocals. I love the slow melancholy acoustics.

I’ve been loving Jai Wolf’s EDM, Indian Summer which actually does sound like an EDM song with Indian influences. I can’t wait to listen to more of him.

And last but not least, I know this came out a while ago but I’ve only recently become obsessed with it and that is Troye Sivan’s song Heaven. I honestly think I’m in love with the main chorus. It just speaks to my angsty, drama-queen self LOL.

Let me know what your November favorites were or any crazy Thanksgiving stories?

sigfinal

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “November 2016 Reflections/Favorites

  1. You’re welcome. That’s why I love reading the acknowledgement pages of books because I always wonder what it’ll look like if I had an acknowledgement page as well. So fun to look at.
    You recommended me Heaven by Troye Sivan and I love it so much. AHA. I think Um Oh Ah Yeh is just really catchy because those four words just flow really well into a beat LOL. Funny. Is it supposed to even mean anything? Or is it just a beat thing?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yaaasssss, I got someone addicted to it haha
      I think the lyrics mean a lot of things, but it goes well with the melody. It’s kind of melancholy but soaring at the same time.

      Like

  2. Awesome wrap up! I’m so so sorry to hear your Thanksgiving was rough, that’s never a good thing! It happens, though, with families–especially around the holidays! Hopefully things settle down soon and get back on track for you.

    Love the music, thanks so much for sharing! I’ve heard Jai Wolf’s Indian Summer before and really enjoy the sound–it’s unique and interesting!

    Here’s hoping December is just as great for you! My Loved and Loathed (November 2016) post is up, if you’re interested in checking it out (and haven’t yet done so). No pressure or worries at all if you’re not, though! Either way, happy book-ing to you in the near future…and happy December! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

