Tags · Uncategorized

Fall Activities Book Tag

It’s finally feeling like fall here in SoCal, probably because it’s been raining..but I decided to do the fall book tag to get into the fall spirit. I was tagged by Ashley @Dreamingthroughliterature so thank you! Definitely check out her blog; I always get awesome graphic novel recommendations from her.

Apple Picking: A book on yImage result for the stories of ibisour TBR that looks so delicious you can’t wait to take a bite out of it.

I recently bought The Stories of Ibis by Hiroshi Yamamoto which is a Japanese scifi book that takes place way in the future where androids have taken over humanity and our main character is a storyteller that spreads stories about how humanity came to this end. It sounds soo freaking good and I’ve seriously been slacking on scifi this year so this book sounds perfect right now.

Corn MazeImage result for a torch against the night: A book that’s so much fun to get lost in.

I recently read and finished A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir. I had my problems with it (surprise, surprise) but I think Tahir did a good job with maintaining the suspense and the action-packed plot. She’s definitely not afraid to cut a few fingers or break a few..bones. I was definitely there for the plot and that made it really easy to get into.

Haunted HImage result for night filmouses: A book that scared you silly.

I’ve decided that straight up horror books are just not for me although horror movies are (it’s weird). So I wouldn’t say Night Film by Marisha Pessl scared me persay but it did give me the chills and it was really suspenseful and darkly atmospheric which kept me on the edge of my seat.

 

Pumpkin Patchsteam: The latest book you picked up (purchased).

The Steampunk Bible by Jeff Vandermeer is a gorgeous coffee table book that I borrowed from my library detailing the history of Steampunk and steampunk literature. It’s a great reference guide for writers. Lately I’ve been really wanting to read how-to guides for writing or reference books (what a nerd) because it just makes me a better, analytical reader. So now you can read more of my book reviews where I pretend to know what I’m talking about. Hoorah!

steam1
Excerpt

And speaking of pumpkin patches, I went to one. I’m doing a Fall activities tag so I thought it fitting that I include a picture of me actually doing a fall activity :3

img_20161022_162241
I might be smiling but I was internally dying from the heat..

Scenic DrivImage result for kitchen banana yoshimotoes: A book that is lyrically beautiful.

I actually refuse to say any prose is more gorgeous and ephemeral than The Night Circus’s but I feel like I always include that book in the previous tags I’ve done so I’m gonna go with Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto. It’s more of a quiet beautiful like a the sky after it rains type of beautiful.

 

Pumpkin Carving: A book you didn’t like and wouldn’t mind carving up.Image result for wolf by wolf ryan graudin

I’m gonna cheat and say Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin even though I’ve only read like 30 pages of it and have since DNF’ed it. I’ve noticed this trend in YA writing and it’s when the author writes something really dramatic in one line and then inserts one line under that to emphasize how dramatic the previous sentence was. It annoys me to no end mostly because I feel like it’s grabbing a pan and banging me over the head with how oh so dramatic it is when it’s..not.

The world was not just moving. It was alive.
And it was ready to fight.

Hiking: A book that was a highly enjoyable romp.Image result for cleopatra in space

Romp reminds me of adventure so I’m going to go with Cleopatra in space by Mike Maihack. It’s about a girl named Cleopatra (what did you expect?) who finds a tablet that transports her to the far future and there she goes to school in space and has a mission to defeat an evil ruler. It’s so much middle grade fun and it made me smile like an idiot. It’s not just an adventurous romp though. It has a lot of heart and the fluid artwork that helps you appreciate the world.

Drinking Apple Cider: A sweet book to curl up under the covers with.

Image result for dash and lily's book of daresImage result for dash and lily's book of dares

I’m gonna go with Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan because it’s just so cute and it’s about two teens falling in love during the holiday season. I was reminded of this because the sequel is actually coming out (after like what 500 years? I didn’t even though there was going to be a sequel) and it’s called The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily. I’m so excited. I definitely need more rom-coms to read that are set during Christmas…

Jumping inImage result for the queen of attolia a Leaf Pile: A book that reminds you of your childhood.

I’m currently working my way through The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner which is a YA fantasy written in the 90’s or is it early 2000’s? It reminds me of the days I went to the library and looked on the shelves for cool-looking fantasy covers and read a lot of traditional fantasy books with sword fighting and old-fashioned political intrigue like Tamora Pierce’s books.

Scary Movie Night: Your favorite spooky read.Image result for harrow countyImage result for the bloody chamber angela carter

I’ve mentioned Psycho and Nailbiter before but again I don’t think I’m into horror books anymore so I’m choosing The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories by Angela Carter. It’s vividly dark and follows the Gothic tradition of atmosphere. These stories are also subversive and more gory retellings of fairytales so it was pretty creepy and definitely good for October. I do have a horror graphic novel on my TBR that would have fit this category that I really want to get to called Harrow County which is described as a “southern Gothic fairytale” about a witch. Sounds awesome.

Image result for crooked kingdomBonus! Costume Party: A book with an eclectic cast of characters.

I haven’t read about a more lovable cast of characters than the ones in Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo for a while. I adore these delinquents and thieves and gang members as though they were my own friends. If you haven’t checked out this duology, do it; it’s one of the better YA fantasies. I just found out yesterday that Bardugo is writing a new book called Ninth House which features a New Adult protagonist who gets involved with the occult. Uhmmm, sign me up pleaseee.

I hope you enjoyed this tag. I know I haven’t done one in forever but this one was so fun to do. Let me know what your answers would be or if you’ve read any of these books. Feel free to do this tag if you so wish. I’m, once again, too lazy to tag anyone. I’m not finished with the fall/Halloween spirit yet because my next post will be some mini reviews on Halloween/horror movies I’ve been watching lately so stay tuned for that =)

sigfinal

8 thoughts on “Fall Activities Book Tag

  1. Oh gosh, I feel ashamed because I haven’t read any of these books. ;~;
    HAHA what you said about Wolf by Wolf (re: dramatic lines) is so true! Now that I think about it, you’re the first person I know who has said they didn’t like Wolf by Wolf! Why did you dislike it? :s

    (And aahhhh totally agree with choosing Crooked Kingdom!! Which… I still need to read…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well from what I read, I mostly don’t like the writing and the main character was just really generic and I didn’t feel like there was any worldbuilding. Sure, she told me things about WWII and had characters say German words but meh…not enough for me haha

      Like

  2. Vandermeer’s Steampunk Bible is going on my TBR. I love that cover and the illustration you showed. I wouldn’t mind getting into Steampunk either. I haven’t read many of those and when I do, I don’t realize it’s Steampunk. That sub-genre is new to me.
    But I think it’s a great inspiration for Halloween costumes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read many either except for the Parasol Protectorate series and the Leviathan series by Scott Westerfield but it really fascinates me so I want to read more!
      And yess, they do make cool Halloween costumes! I love all the gear detailing on the outfits.

      Like

      1. Yea, that’s what I love too, the gear details. Makes the outfits a bit quirky.
        I have one of those Parasol Protectorate books. I’ve heard they’re great but haven’t started it yet.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. OOOH Ninth House with occult..That sounds amazing.. I’m def going to read that when I slowly finish up the books I have right now. For a scary book for halloween, can u please read The Turn of the Screw by Henry James? I really want to know what you think of it. Thanks. Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

