Uncategorized · wrap up

February 2016 Wrap Up

February was an interesting month in terms of reading. I’m glad I got to go out of my comfort zone a little and it paid off. I’m surprised to say that I’ve really been liking all the nonfiction I’ve been reading recently.

Novels

2/5

Embassy town by China Mieville– This is actually one of the most unique books I’ve read in a long, long time, thematically at least. It explores the concept of language and language barrier in a scifi world where some humans serve as ambassadors (basically translators) to an alien race. What is truth? What are lies? And you really feel as though you’ve been submerged into this strange world. BUT. The characters and the storyline were lacking so, so much and were not engaging at all. But to be honest, I think I am not smart enough to understand it. I’ll probably reread it in the future.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes– Full review here

4/5

The following 2 books are going to be featured in my next genre mash-up review post so stay tuned for that! These are all nonfiction.

4/5

 

3.5/5

 

Novellas

4/5

The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn– A must read if you are a fan of fairytale retellings and magical realism! I wasn’t expecting too much from this but it kinda blew me away and I can see why it’s getting Hugo buzz! The general gist of it is that young boy hears the story of his grandfather living with a jinn and a princess in Pakistan and when his grandfather passes away, he feels an urgent need to go back to Pakistan and find out what this jinn really is. It weaves in so many insights on cultural identity, immigration, and generation barriers. You can read it free at the SFF website Tor here

 

 

Graphic Novels/Comics

Descenders Issue 1 by Jeff Lemire, Artwork by Dustin Nguyen– You expect precise and

3.8/5

hard, concrete drawn lines when it comes to the artwork in scifi comics but omigosh Dustin Nguyen so precisely renders this scifi world in watercolor and it works so well. It makes the world so much more expansive and surreal. The story itself is interesting, even if a little generic (it follows a young robot as he tries to survive in a world where robots are outlawed but there’s also an intergalactic war mixed in) and I can’t really judge it yet since I’ve only read one issue but I’m excited for the rest. It reminds me a lot of Star Wars and the kaiju in Pacific Rim. If you’re looking for your next space opera read, I think this one should be on your radar.

An excerpt panel from Issue 1

What did you read this February?

sigfinal

 

17 thoughts on “February 2016 Wrap Up

  1. Wow, these are some really interesting choices! The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn sounds so good!
    February was a pretty good reading month for me. I read the Grisha Trilogy, An Ember In The Ashes, Morning Star, A Court of Thorns and Roses, Lamb: The Gospel According To Bigg – Christ’s Childhood Friend, The Siren, and The Magician’s Land. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh, I wish I had as great of a reading month as you! I feel like I’ve been in a weird slump for a while now where I want to read but can’t find anything that holds my attention. And ooh, did you like The Magician’s Land? I’ve been meaning to try and attempt to read it again. I didn’t click with it The Magicians the first time I read it but I really think I should give it another shot. And yes! An Amber in the Ashes ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I hate reading slumps! They’re the worst!.. As for The Magicians, the first book was just alright but it got progressively better as the series went along. The last book was the best because the characters had matured and weren’t all whiny and selfish anymore.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh that’s good to hear! That gives me more motivation to “reread” the first book. I didn’t mind that the characters were whiny and selfish but I think I just couldn’t connect to writing

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I read the Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn a few days ago and thought it was a wonderful little story as well.
    I also reviewed Between the World and Me in February.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying more nonfiction..wish I could say the same 😡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh nice! And yeah, I really liked it 🙂
      Did you like it? I’ll check out your review!
      Yeah I’ve probably read more nonfiction these past two months than all of 2015 together lol. Maybe you could find a subject you’re interested in and find nonfiction that deals with it? That’s what I do lol. There’s one about psychopaths on my TBR..

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Is the Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn a new release? I’ve never heard of it.
    Here’s Jhin from League of Legends: https://i.ytimg.com/vi/58YS12t61gg/maxresdefault.jpg. Thought you might like him cause he’s a virtuoso.
    I’m kinda surprised you rated Catfish and Mandala such a high rating. Thought it was a sketch book.
    Of course you had to reiterate the fact his name is “Dustin Nguyen” gg.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I think it’s relatively new.
      What’s a virtuoso LOL
      I thought it would be too! But it ended up being a pleasant surprise. Yeah cause you have to reiterate Vietnamese illustrators obvi 😉

      Like

  4. A Viet illustrator?? It looks so cool! And I’ve been thinking about reading Between the World and Me. It sounds like an important book and I’ve seen it everywhere. Also I know it’s short and fast read but I don’t think I’ll enjoy it as much as the hype that’s surrounded it. Still debating on that one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

