Uncategorized · What I've Been Watching

What I Watched in February

Hello everyone!

Finals are next week! heh. he. heh. *faints* This is probably going to end up being a regular feature as I’m rediscovering my love for movies and I just really want to discuss them. Let me know if you like these types of posts!

Movies: Drama

Sicario

What it’s about: FBI agent, Kate Macer, accompanies a shady government agency in a mission to bust one of the most notorious Mexican drug cartels.

My thoughts: I think Emily Blunt is my new favorite actress now (sorry Emma Stone, I still love you though). She was absolutely fabulous in this movie. Such subtle but emotionally wrenching acting. There was not as much violence and action as I thought there would be considering the grim and tense atmosphere of the setting although the ending just had me on the edge of my seat. This movie was nominated for 3 Academy Awards: Best Cinematography, Best Original Score, and Best Sound Editing and I can see why it got nominated on all three fronts especially cinematography. Oh, so great. I also really liked Macer’s character arc and that depressing ending just really makes you think about idealism and American innocence so to speak. Best to go into it blind but it’s definitely worth a watch.

Spotlight

What it’s about: Based on a true story, a group of journalists at the Boston Globe who work to uncover the huge scandal of numerous cases of sexual abuse within the Catholic Church and how the Catholic Church sought to hide this atrocity.

My thoughts: Spotlight is one of the least dramatic movies I’ve ever seen. And surprisingly that’s not a bad thing. It’s just so realistic to the point where you feel like you’re watching a documentary. The actors play people who act as real people would in the same situation. No dramatic music, no shouting, no nothing. But the acting is still so impactful and this story is a story that needed to be told in the right way.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

What it’s about: Um, Pride and Prejudice but now England is infested with zombies and Elizabeth and company are zombie-fighters.

My thoughts: It is a truth universally acknowledged that just because you insert some Pride and Prejudice quotes into your movie does not mean it’s a good adaptation. The only praise I can really give this movie is the fact that I love the costuming mix between Regency era and zombie-fighting gear and the fact that it’s vaguely entertaining. Emphasis on vaguely. Oh and Matt Smith makes a really good Mr. Collins. Where do I even start? First of all, there is so much cleavage, like why…Cleavage is great but when I’m tempted to rename this movie PP& cleavage, there is something wrong.  There is way too much emphasis on randomly fighting zombies in random places. It just became anticlimactic. Way too much emphasis on unimportant scenes with George Wickham instead of the scenes that actually matter.

Also this movie was basically a knockoff of Keira Knightley’s Pride and PRejudice movie. I’m not even kidding when I say some of the freaking camera movements were the exact same. When George Wickham shoves Lydia in the cart at the end and the camera is behidn the window. THAT HAPPENED IN PP too. ugh. It had so much potential.

Movies: Comedy

White Chicks

 

What it’s about: Two African American FBI agents go undercover for a mission  disguised as two white women.

My thoughts: As a movie, it’s meh but it. is. so. freaking hilarious!! And so many quotable lines. A must watch if you like slapstick and off the wall kind of humor. I think if you liked 21 Jump Street or any of the more raunchy buddy cop comedies, you’d like this one too.

Series Finale of Gravity Falls

My thoughts: I can’t believe Gravity falls has ended!! I’m gonna miss Dipper and Mabel and Stan and Wendy and Sooz  and all their crazy adventures so much! The ending was everything I could have wanted in a finale (except for this one overused trope). It wasn’t too rushed, too convenient and the ending was so bittersweet it almost made me cry.

TV Shows

Love (Netflix)

What it’s about: A show exploring the nature of romantic relationships through our two main characters, Mickey and Gus.

My thoughts: For some reason, I wanted to hate this show. I have no idea why, maybe because the trailer made it seem like a knock off of You’re the Worst and you all know that show is very dear to my heart. But by the second episode, I was hooked. It doesn’t have  as great of characters as You’re the Worst in my opinion because the main characters of You’re the Worst are unapologetically nasty but in Love, they just have alcohol problems and are mainly just hipster and eccentric but what it does better than YTW is creating such absurd, hilarious but totally relatable (it’s almost uncanny) situations with a lot of miscommunication errors that feel refreshing, like the time when Gus and Bertie are both on a date and it’s not going well and Bertie sends a text to her roommate saying that he’s just ok but she accidently sends the text to Gus so he purposefully sabotages the date. And it gets crazier from there. It just has a great mixture of dry and situational humor that I found to be really funny. It’s ultimately a story of two people trying to find themselves and find love and it’s great. I hope there’s a second season.

The Paradise (Netlfix: BBC)

What it’s about: A young woman, Denise, decides to work for the first department store in England in the 19th century.

My thoughts: I’m actually planning on doing a full review of this one once I’ve finished the book. But in short, it was such a pleasant surprise. I loved the costumes, the feminist undertones, the little romance subplot, and the side characters were so well-developed and interesting to watch. Also the soundtrack is gorgeous. It’s not a very dramatic show and it is more on the romanticized, light, fluffy side but I still loved it

Youtube

Fleudevlog

My thoughts: Fleur’s main channel is Fleurdeforce which is a beauty channel which I love but I also really like her vlog channel. They make me so happy. As you can imagine, she just goes about vlogging about her daily life but she makes even the most mundane things interesting and I love seeing her interactions with her husband.

 

11 thoughts on “What I Watched in February

    1. Yeah he is! I couldn’t unsee him as Doctor Who even though I haven’t even seen DW. That just tells you how much I’ve been on Tumblr lol.
      And omg yes, I was not expecting such a well-crafted show that gave me all the feelz.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow how do you even find these shows? Some of them I never even heard before and sound so sketchy lol, Like White Chicks and about African Americans disguised as white girls? LIKE HOW?
    (by the way, you forgot to bold the ‘my thoughts’ for PP+Z)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually White Chicks is pretty popular comedy movie LOL. Everyone has been telling me to watch it since high school. And idk, I sometimes I randomly search up my netflix recommendations or look up like best comedies or something lol

      Like

  2. I watched Spotlight this month too!! It was so good!!! I feel like so many people I know watched it this month too haha. You need to come to LA again so we can watch movies at my apt 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

