Book Discussion · book review · Uncategorized

Book Review (In Graphs): Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

15507958

Title: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Genre: Contemporary Fiction, Romance

Pages: 369

Synopsis: Goodreads

Rating: tealstartealstartealstartealstar  (4/5)


 

Characters

me4u6

me4u2

Dialogue

me4u10

My experience

me4u

*Considering I knew pretty much what was going to happen at the end. I mean, EVERYONE kept telling me about how much they cried and I think I was so determined not to cry lol.

me4u3

The Writing

me4u4

me4u7

 

me4u5

 

Final Thoughts: A conventional love story with some insightful commentary about the everyday struggles of a paraplegic and what it means to make decisions for someone else and an unconventional ending. From a writer’s point of view, it wasn’t all that great but I still found myself enjoying it and I had a good time with it. You win this time, Jojo Moyes. Side note: Sam Clafin and Emilia Clarke are really good casting choices for these characters. I kept imagining the characters as them while I was reading. Granted I did watch the trailer first before reading the book but whatever..What did you think of this book? And how much did you cry?

sigfinal

 

16 thoughts on “Book Review (In Graphs): Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. CAN I JUST TAKE A MOMENT: YOUR GRAPHICS YES MORE I LOVE IT.
    Thank you.
    A cat meme on tumblr…my grades…seriously I love this. I want to eat this.
    I understood Will’s decision, I did, I don’t know if I would have been able to live like that either. BUT STILL. It’s infuriating how Louisa wasn’t enough for him. I just found him kind of a hypocrite, like he gets mad at her for not living her life to the fullest because you only get one…but then SPOILERS he just takes away his just MSHAIUF

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hehe THANK YOU BECCA ❤
      Yeah, that's true but I think it was easy for Will to say that to Louisa since she's fully capable of doing everything that he can't do by herself. It was sad that she wasn't enough for him to want to live though like dang the love of your life isn't enough reason for you to live. I'd be pretty devastated if I were Louisa :/ It's pretty interesting how they keep telling the other how to live their life when they should kinda take their own advice lol

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, holy crapadoodles Carolyn, I actually love this review so much? It’s just so succinct? And awesome? And your graphs. GIRL. *standing ovation* 👌🏻

    I’m actually half-dreading, half-looking forward to reading this book because I am such a big crier (I cry at everything; I cry when I think about sad movies and stuff), so this book will probably hit me right in the tearduct and feels.

    (Also HAHAHA Nicholas Sparks book on the seriousness axis. I love it. Go you!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha Thank you, CW! 😀 That makes me really happy :3
      I’m pretty sure you’ll cry in this book then since I have a heart of stone and usually don’t really cry. I do, however, have a soft soft for sentimental epilogues haha.
      Save it for a time when you want to feel sad haha 😉
      And omg, I thought this book would be like a Nicholas Sparks book but the summary just screamed Nicholas Sparks. Thank god it wasn’t!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my gosh, lol!!! This is seriously the best thing I’ve seen all day! I have to agree with you this book really surprised me. It had a very predictable plot but it was entertaining. Plus, I was not expecting to cry knowing what the end would be like but, of course, the waterworks were inevitable. XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m usually ok with romance contemporaries having predictable plots because I just need a feel-good book but it has to be a well-executed predictability if that makes sense lol. Like the dialogue wasn’t really helping. SPOILERS
      I started crying when Louisa professed her love to Will on their vacation but he said it wasn’t enough ugh so sad

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had a dry eye during that scene, surprisingly… Like I was a total cold hearted princess the entire book… SPOILERS until the very end when she decides to make the trip and see him for the last time. T_T

        Like

Leave a Reply

