Misc · Uncategorized

Favorite Literary Couples Playlist

Happy Valentine’s Day! I hope you are having fun no matter what you’re doing, or if you’re single, married, in a relationship, or somewhere in between. I went shopping today because ya know Valentine’s Day is the perfect day to treat yo self.

I haven’t done any posts about the music that I like and that’s because I’m not versed in music. I just listen to whatever catches my attention, which means mostly pop, hip-hip and most recently, EDM/dance music.

So I decided to pair some songs with my some of my favorite literary couples. Obviously I have way, way, way more than the ones mentioned. These just are the ones that happen to pop up in my head.

  1. Let’s start off with the basics. Lara Jean and Peter from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

“No more contract. No more safety net. You can break my heart. Do whatever you want with it.”

I think their song would be Our Song by Taylor Swift because they’re one of the quirkiest couples out there that I’ve read about. And I think the beat to this song is really quirky. It’s definitely the little things with Peter and Lara whether it be going to Starbucks together or baking together. And if anything, they would totally be the couple to sneak out late at night 😉

2. Raffe and Penryn from Angelfall by Susan Ee

Raffe and Penryn are definitely are a more seductive but also the more witty/bantering couple which is why I love them so much.

“Who knew? I had no idea that someone could be such a thorn in your foot during a death march and still be irresistibly attractive in some magical, undeniable way.”
“So is this what people call sweet nothings? Because somehow, I expected it to be a little more…complementary.”

I’m kind of taking this literally but I think Next to You by Chris Brown and Justin Bieber purely because of the “end-of-the-world vibe”.

Lyrics: One day when the sky is falling, I’ll be standing right next to youu..

I think they’d probably sing this song sarcastically to each other because of the cheesiness but they’d probably end up enjoying it anyways 😉

3. Arin and Kestrel from The Winner’s trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

I really can’t pass up an opportunity to gush about them. I love them so much because they are basically equals in every way but they often find that they can’t really express their feelings for each other because of something or another (don’t want to say because spoilers) but I love that no matter how confused they are they’re always drawn to one another and how instinctly safe they feel with each other.

“You don’t, Kestrel, even though the god of lies loves you.”

So I choose, Don’t Know Much by Linda Ronstadt.

4. Khalid and Sharzhad from The Wrath and the Dawn

They’re actually quite the romantic couple so I tried to pick a romantic song.

“What are you doing to me, you plague of a girl?” he whispered.
“If I’m a plague, then you should keep your distance, unless you plan on being destroyed.” The weapons still in her grasp, she shoved against his chest

It’s My Destiny by Katharine McPhee because I think it’s quite dramatic and urgent but slow at the same time which is how I would describe the romance in The Wrath and the Dawn and there’s a lot about changing destinies which I thought was quite fitting for Sharzhad and Khalid.

Lyrics: With you, finally I can break free
With you, I saw a changing in my destiny
Dream come true, it’s so funny now that I see
How different life turned to be

5. Winter and Jacin from Winter by Marissa Meyer

Granted, I’m only like 300 pages into Winter but I ship Winter and Jacin so, so hard. I love this Stay the Night by Zedd because there’s such a fuck everything attitude to it. And obviously, there’s a lot of emphasis on seizing the moment which I think applies to Winter and Jacin. Plus, they have had a lot of nightly adventures so far and those are the cutest parts.

6. Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice

The couple of all couples who by the way was definitely not done justice to in Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (I watched it this week and it was kind of a shit movie). Words can’t really do justice to this couple so I’ll settle for a piano piece.

“You have bewitched me, body and soul.”

Let me know what you think of my choices and what song you would choose for your favorite couple. Also, if you haven’t already,  check out my “Which Hogwarts House do I belong to?”, I’d love to know your opinion about how I got into a certain Hogwarts House..

sigfinal

 

 

10 thoughts on “Favorite Literary Couples Playlist

  1. The songs you chose to go with those relationships made me want to read those books even more! Oh, did I used to be a huge fan of Katharine McPhee, like ridiculously involved in her fan community during her American Idol season. Listening to My Destiny brought back memories.

    Guess what? You And I are currently reading the same book. I’m kinda loving Darker Shade of Magic right now. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yessss, my plan worked then ;p I’m pretty sure there’s usually a correlation between liking a couple and liking the same book that they’re in. I don’t think I’ve liked one without the other.
      And I need to listen to more Katharine McPhee, I actually just discovered her because she’s one of the main characters of this show called Scorpion.
      LOL, I’ve actually read ADSoM a while ago now (I think in August?) but I’m really bad about updating my blog so it says I’m currently reading it but I’m not. Thanks for reminding me I need to consistently change that lol..

      Like

  2. I KNEW YOU HAD to change your status of what you’re currently reading.
    This kind of inspires me to do the same for my favorite characters and attach songs to them. That’s a really good idea.
    I think the Lara Jean one fits the best. I don’t know Winter and Jacin much so I don’t know if that song fits.
    (btw RIP on One Call Away by Charlie Puth)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL I couldn’t find a good one for One Call Away. I think I just wanted to use it cause I liked it so much lol.
      You should! It was pretty fun thinking up songs for each couple.

      Like

  3. OMG. TAYLOR SWIFT! When I was like in sixth grade I was a die-hard swiftie. Like I know all of Taylor’s songs for her first three CDs by heart (lyrics wise) because that’s how much I listened to her music. XD I don’t listen to her that much anymore but I do love Style! The aesthetics to that music video is beautiful. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is!! Old Taylor Swift is pretty different from New Taylor Swift lol. But her 1989 album is really good imo. I use to listen to her and think about my unrequited love for my crushes and pretend I was in a video montage LOL aka Teardrops on my Guitar. My love life is still just as sad now..

      Like

Leave a Reply

