book review · Uncategorized

Mini Book Reviews: Romance

February is the month of love and Valentine’s Day or as my friend likes to call it: Singles Awareness Day. But you know, if you don’t have any plans this Valentine’s Day or if you do and still are in the mood for a good romance or just a book about romance, why not try these books?

24473763

Title: Radiance

Author: Grace Draven

Pages: 297

Genre: Romance, Fantasy

Summary: Goodreads

Rating: tealstartealstartealstar (3.75)

Well, well, well what do we have here? A fantasy romance that actually has decent and interesting worldbuilding? Basically it’s kind of a combination between Romeo and Juliet (opposing families or in this case races) and Beauty and the Beast. The two races, humans and kai,  think that the other is ugly as hell but they are forced into marriage because the two kingdoms want to form an alliance. Slowly but surely, they both form a friendship because they’re *gasp* starting to see beneath the surface and they find that they actually like spending time together?? what?? Scandalous. But the romance is actually really sweet and fluffy and I love that their relationship is based on a basis of mutual respect for the other’s abilities. The only downside is there’s no tension or conflict in their relationship. The worldbuilding was a lot better than I expected, focusing a lot on the customs and cultures of the two races. I’m excited that there is a sequel so that I get to learn more about this world.

Steaminess Rating: 2 relatively mild sex scenes..


 

23453112

Title: Modern Romance

Author: Aziz Ansari

Pages: 277

Genre: Nonfiction

Summary: Goodreads

Rating: tealstartealstartealstartealstar

Here’s how you can determine if you should read Modern Romance: Answer these questions.

Question 1: Do you think Aziz Ansari is funny?

A. Yeah, he’s hilarious!

B. Hell, no

If you answered A, go to question 2, if B go to 2.

2. How interested are you in learning more about online dating and how dating has changed fom last generation to this one?

A. Very!

B. I guess I’m interested.

C. I’d rather sleep.

If you answered:

A,A – Read this book. My favorite part was when he went to different countries like Japan and studied their current dating methods and attitudes. So fascinating!

A,B- I think you should still give this book a go since I really liked all the statistics and even though the information is a little obvious and repetitive, his humor makes it really fun and engaging. Try listening to the audiobook.

B,B- Aziz’s narrative voice and aside jokes will probably get on your nerves but there’s enough statistics and information to keep you interested. Give the first chapter a go!

A,C-Maybe not the book for you.

B,C-Just go to sleep.

Steaminess Rating: I mean..


 

22296542

Title: Addicted to You #1

Author: Krista and Becca Ritchie

Pages: 324

Genre: New Adult, Romance

Summary: Goodreads

Rating: tealstartealstartealstar

Girl with sex addiction is best friends with boy with alcohol addiction. They have romantic feelings for each other and want to be in a relationship but are afraid their addictions will consume them. WILL LOVE PREVAIL? How’s that for an elevator speech?

I was actually pleasantly surprised by this book. I think it doesn’t downplay the toll that their addictions will take on them and their relationship. And a lot of NA books have love as the end all be all but Krista and Becca wonderfully avoids that by emphasizing that sometimes love is not enough to help you. YOu have to help yourself. At first, I was also worried that there was going to be a lot of girl-on-girl hating because the main character seemed to hate her sisters but I was again, pleasantly surprised that the sisterly bonds and relationship were readily explored and it was really sweet. However, I thought the pacing was really off and the romance, like in a lot of romance novels, was too quick to make me feel really invested.

Steaminess rating: Lots of sexy times lol.

 

3 thoughts on “Mini Book Reviews: Romance

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to let you know that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them! Because they are all equally great and amazing.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is so amazing and beautiful and I truly am so happy that I came across your blog and found it because I do really love it and now I really can’t wait to read more from you! So keep it up (:

    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

