Uncategorized · wrap up

November 2015 Wrap Up

I had such a great reading month, I read..wait for it..3 books!! Whaaat!! So much!! Much books! So wow!

There are a couple of reasons for this:

  1. Slight reading slump
  2. Wasn’t liking any of the books
  3. Watching really good TV shows

Without any further ado, the first book I read this month was:

3/5

Cam Girl by Leah Raeder– I really, really wanted to like this book because Unteachable was one of my favorite books of 2014. And I really liked the first 20% of it. And even though, this book is about a cam girl, I could relate to it more than a lot of NA books set in college which says something about Leah Raeder’s writing. But the rest fell flat for me and I ended up skimming like half the book. It felt the characters were written in a try-too-hard type of way. I thought the plot was going nowhere and the characters were supposed to be written in a way that’s deep and meaningful but it got up to the point where it ended up being really dramatic with no buildup which really undermined the themes. And I thought the ending was a bit of a copout. I’ll probably try and attempt to read this again sometime in the future but for now, I feel no urge. I hope I’ll like Black Iris more!

3/5

The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood-There’s no doubt that Atwood is an astounding writer. She just has a way with words and character that will amaze you. She’s like a word witch.. It’s one of those books that presents a mystery at the beginning and spends the rest of the book explaining that mystery. It’s also a story within a story with frequent uses of newspaper clippings which I thought was a nice touch. I applaud her ability to emulate the writing styles of old science fiction novels. It’s a book you really have to pay attention to details to really get. But overall, I thought the plot was just ok and the themes she presents were better explored in her other books. I felt like it was also unnecessarily long.

3/5

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline– I have a full review of this one but in a nutshell, I can see why this book is popular but for me, the worldbuilding was really random, the characters were forgettable and the plot was boring. Sorry! But hey, I ended up finishing it so I guess I have to give it credit for that.

Well that was a meh reading month but it’s ok because I still have December and I have a lot of books I want to read before the year is over. What did you read in November? Have you read any of the books I have?

sigfinal

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “November 2015 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

