wrap up

September 2015 Wrap Up!

Hi all! September is over and here is what I read in September! All reviews I’ve written will be linked. I enjoyed most if not all of the books I read.

Historical Fiction

(4/5)

Under a Painted Sky- I did a mini review of this one along with two other YA historical fiction novels.

Fantasy

(4/5)
(4/5)
(3.75/5)

The Assassin’s Apprentice– Everybody raves about Robin Hobb and I can see why. Her worldbuilding is so phenomenal and unique especially the way she invents cultural customs and the customs aren’t always what you might expect from a medieval type society. Robin Hobb is also known for her characters and I was particularly fascinated by the Fool but the other characters were very well developed too. The plot really picks up near the end of the book. Highly recommended if you like slower-paced fantasy novels.

An Ember in the Ashes– I did a full review and spoiler discussion on this one. Really liked it!

The Last Ever After– I have a full review on the whole trilogy.

Contemporary

(4.5/5)
(3.5/5)

The Crossover– I haven’t read a book written in verse for a while now but I can still safely say that this is one of the best verse novels I’ve read. It’s a middle grade novel about a two brothers, Josh and Jordan, who are best friends but they start to grow up and their relationship dynamics change as they navigate the woes of life. There’s a lot of references to basketball as they’re both basketball players and I think the verse is particularly fun and exciting because it’s written as if you were listening to a hip hop song. I just think it was heartwarming, heartwrenching, fun, sweet book about family.

Maybe in Another Life– I think this book is especially thought-provoking if you’re in your 20’s and the ending (s) actually really surprised me. I initially read the book because I thought the premise sounded really interesting. A woman who goes back to her hometown to live with her best friend. A chance reunion with a childhood sweetheart leads to two parallel storylines (kind of like a choose your own adventure). One where she leaves with him and one where she decides not to and that leads to two different storylines and the reader follows her through each one. I do feel like some of the complicated problems in this book were solved too simplistically and it was bit too preachy at times. Also I felt the author wrote a main character who just reacts to the situations.

(4/5)

This One Summer- The great thing about this coming of age graphic novel is that the main characters aren’t done with their character arc yet. This book is just a snapshot of a particularly vulnerable time in their lives and I really liked that. It was definitely a quiet book with gorgeous artwork. I loved the subtle, subconscious things the girls pick up simply by being around other people. I think that’s very accurate to how young kids learn about the world and their place in that society.

Literary

(4.5/5)

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao-Probably my favorite book of the month. Fully deserving of its Pulitizer Prize in my opinion. It’s written in a way that’s both erudite and pedestrian and seemlessly weaves in Spanish language at the same time (without translating it for you). Junot Diaz really knows how to write narrative voice and I think the exploration of immigration, social pariahs, and Dominican culture were done well too.

But as serious as it sounds, this book is actually quite funny; it has a touch of magical realism in it and the serious nature of many of the events of the book were not undermined by the tone of the book. I think the reason I like this book so much is because it’s about the dreamers wanting to escape the life that they were born in even it has shaped who they are.

Nonfiction

(4/5)

Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates-Everyday Sexism is actually a project started by Laura Bates where people (women mostly) from all over the world submitted their stories of everyday sexism. Everyday sexism is when a girl is told that she can’t become a scientist, when there is groping and harassment at workplaces but women are too afraid to report it for fear of losing their job, when girls are too afraid to walk home for fear of harassers. It will leave you angry, frustrated, and shocked at the terrible but true things that happen to women simply because they are women. But the author does a good job at giving a call to action.

Picture

There are 5 reasons you should read this book

  1. You are at Costco waiting to pick up your pizza and you have nothing to do in that time.
  2. You are an actual kid.
  3. You are a kid at heart.
  4. You like pizza.
  5. You like cute animals.

But yeah, it was super adorable.

Tell me about your reading month in September and what you plan to read in October! I’m so excited to share what I’m reading in October in a post coming up soon!

sigfinal

12 thoughts on “September 2015 Wrap Up!

  1. Seems like a pretty good reading month, Carolyn! I think I’ll be adding The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao to my TBR list. It sounds intriguing, and most prize-winning books are great. Speaking of my TBR and books you enjoyed… I get my copy of A Little Life in the mail tomorrow! Looks like I’ll be starting that one sooner than later after all. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Summer 🙂 I think the brief life will actually make it to my favorites of the year! Its very readable too which was surprising to me. And omg omg I’m hyperventilating you’re gonna have a copy of A Little Life :3 I hope you love it

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! Me too. I read a couple of pages the other day and I’m really loving the writing already. I had to put it down though because of other reading commitments and school stuff. :/ But hopefully I’ll pick it back up again this week! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. SECRET PIZZA PARTY!! I want to read that. You know at my high school, they’re starting to put graphic novels and I saw March, Ms. Marvel, and This One Summer. I really couldn’t believe it since my school library has a really limited collection of books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my gosh, Maybe in Another Life. ❤ ❤ That book resonated with me so much. I do agree that some of her problems were solved really easily – like there was hardship, but some parts I wish the author had offered insight because I'm going through similar problems and I want to know how the character would overcome it! D: But I like that it was optimistic. I'm sort of tired of the 'bittersweet and sad so it must be realistic' sort of endings.

    I used to follow Everyday Sexism and Everyday Racism on Tumblr, but I didn't know it was a book? I might check that out – when I'm feeling a little (mentally) stronger. :c

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

