Tags

Around the World in YA book tag

Hi everyone! So I just moved back into my apartment; it feels really good to be back. I still have a few days left to enjoy before school starts so I’m back with a tag! I was tagged by Anjie @ Love Thy Shelf whom I’ve mentioned before has an awesome blog. You should definitely go check her blog out. I especially love this tag because I love to travel even though I don’t do it at all because my family hates traveling. So let’s get started!

The rules:

List a country, and then show which favorite book of yours is set in that country is. You can use the countries I used, add your own, or use completely different ones!

ire

1451694

The quintessential beach read. A fast-pace and addicting urban fantasy. The descriptions of Dublin are absolutely gorgeous!

czech

84901121281255013618440

If anyone knows any other book set in Prague, I would love to know. I think it sounds like such a beautiful place with tons of history and amazing architecture. And I’m obsessed with architecture.

viet

53629
Paradise of the Blind by Duong Thu Huong. Translated by Nina Mcpherson and Phan Huy Duong

A lot of books written by Vietnamese authors in Vietnam will inevitably be about the Vietnam War and I understand it was an important time in my country’s history but I wish more books were just set in Vietnam without this backdrop of war. This book helped me realize and appreciate the richness of Vietnam and its culture. Vietnam represent yeeee..

russ

15823480

I haven’t actually finished this book yet (Shhh…) but I’m loving it.

chi

54529
Falling Leaves by Adeline Yen Mah

It’s been heralded as sort of nonfictional Chinese Cinderella. I really enjoyed it when I first read it but looking back on it, the writing was just ok and the author writes herself as too much of an angel and a victim which leads to lots of self-pity but I still really liked the look at Chinese language and culture and the look at China in a time of turmoil.

eng

33412359265 59263

The first book actually wins an award for most reread book I’ve ever read..Wow great phrasing there..My judgement may be biased considering I did read it as a young teen and I’m not sure how it would hold up with me today but I have read his other books and enjoyed them so.. But this book is amazing, a YA urban fantasy with a sassy djinn and magic.

iran

9516

9517

A graphic memoir about a girl growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution. The subject matter is heavy but Satrapi handles it in a lighthearted way that doesn’t undermine the seriousness of the situation.

spa

1232

This coming of age novel is gorgeously written and I felt very immersed in Spain’s culture and atmosphere during the 1940’s.

bra

294442

There are only two words that can describe the magic that is Eva Ibbotson and her characters and writing: enchanting and charming. You can tell that Ibbotson has a love for the outdoors.

I tag:

Samantha @ Dream By Day

Summer @ XingSings

Aentee @ Read by Midnight

..and anyone else who wants to do this tag!

sigfinal

4 thoughts on “Around the World in YA book tag

  1. Thanks for the tag, Carolyn! I can’t wait to do this one someday. The only problem is I haven’t read that many books set in diverse locations, LOL. And why have I never heard of Dark Fever?? It’s an urban fantasy set in Ireland?? I really want to read that now since Ireland is my ideal dream destination!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

