Misc · Recommendations

Top 5 Webseries based on Classic Literature

For the past few weeks, I’ve been obsessed with webseries on Youtube and have been watching ALL the webseries on ze interwebs because #summer. The thing I like about these webseries is that they’re so binge watchable and quick but feature some fantastic storytelling. The fact that they’re based on classic literature (especially if I’ve read the book)  makes watching them more enjoyable; it’s kind of like finding Easter eggs. I wanted to recommend some of my favorites and some I still plan on watching. This list would include The Lizzie Bennet Diaries but I’m going to be reviewing that one in a different post coming soon but rest assure, it would definitely grace its presence as one of my favorite webseries of all time. So in order of least favorite to favorite.

5. The Misselwaithe Archives by Pencil Ink Introductions

Based on: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Status: Ongoing

I haven’t read the book since I was a kid so I don’t remember a lot about the plot but they did change Mary Lennox to be a teenager in this adaptation and even though this webseries was based on a children’s novel, I liked that they gave an edge to Mary’s character and it’s a refreshing take that I hadn’t seen before in a webseries. This webseries is also different in that it’s not always filmed as vlogs where Mary speaks directly to the camera and I thought that was refreshing too. It has great acting and great cinematography.

4. The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy

Based on: Peter Pan by JM Barrie

Status: Season 2 just finished

This webseries is so charming with lovable and endearing characters. Funnily enough, the side characters are my favorite especially John (Wendy’s brother) he’s like the resident, OCD, clean loving, really serious brother who always dresses up in a suit. Interestingly enough, they left Tinkerbell in as a fairy even though it’s, for all intents and purposes, a series grounded in reality. But I like the touch of the magical in it.

3. Frankenstein MD

Based on: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (obviously)

Status: Finished

Finally! Some STEM representation! Yay! And they kept a science consultant so the facts would be accurate. This one has good quality videos and props which is always appreciated. I really liked how they adapted Victor’s personality to Victoria, a modern day premed student trying to find a way to resurrect the dead. If you’ve read Frankenstein, you know how badly it ends, but you enjoy the downfall anyways. To balance the darker parts, there are some funny and endearing side characters that are so fun to watch. This one is actually more of a mini series so it’s even shorter than webseries usually are so it’s even more marathon worthy 🙂

2. Carmilla

Based on: Carmilla by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

Status: Ongoing (Season 2)

At first, I was a little hesitant about Carmilla because I wondered how they were going to make vampires work in a webseries but it worked. This one is changed a bit from the source material but I really liked the addition of a mystery. Our main character, Laura, tries to solve the mystery of kidnapped students even while she suspects her roommate, Carmilla, of being involved in the kidnappings but the catch is, she thinks she might also start to have feelings for Carmilla..

1. Emma Approved

Based on: Emma by Jane Austen

Status: Finished

I started reading the book while I was watching the series and that made watching the webseries even more fun and Emma is my favorite Jane Austen novel. The interactions between the characters are a joy to watch. The actors playing Emma Woodhouse and Alex Knightley have such amazing chemistry (they actually started dating in the middle of the webseries). As a bonus, the interactive media is always amazing. Pemberley Digital partnered up with Modcloth to sponsor Emma’s clothes and you have the option to buy them and all of Emma’s outfits are absolutely gorgeous so that was a plus. All of their interactions on Twitter and extra pictures that correspond with some of the episodes that add to the storytelling were great too. Emma, as a character, also has her own blog where she talks about lifestyle tips which also makes the experience more exciting because her character is a lifestyle coach and it makes the character feel more real.

Currently Watching:

1. Nothing Much to Do

Based on: Much Ado About Nothing by Shakespeare

2. From Mansfield with Love

Based on: Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

3. Lovely Little Losers

Based on: Love’s Labour Lost by Shakespeare

Do you watch any webseries? Which ones are your favorite? I’d love more recommsigfinalendations! 🙂

22 thoughts on “Top 5 Webseries based on Classic Literature

  1. Umm, wow, so I was quite unaware that there were classic literature web series other than the Lizzie Bennet Diaries… And I have this urge to rewatch Mansfield Park today after seeing other bloggers mention it lately. So I may watch that and binge a couple of LBD episodes! And whoa, all those Shakespeare web series going on, haha. I don’t think I like any of his work to be honest… Well except for Macbeth that was twisted, somewhat dark, interesting, lol. Maybe watching a web series will allow me to appreciate his work more? Who knows!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t know there was a mansfield park movie o: although I shouldn’t be surprised, they make movies out of a lot of Jane Austen books. Omg you wouldn’t believe how many Shakespeare webseries there are, although I haven’t really liked any of the webseries adaptation before. There’s one for Romeo and Juliet and Taming of the Shrew. Although I think Macbeth is probably one of my favorites of his!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I discovered the Misselthwaite one yesterday actually LOL. And I was surprised at the quality of the videos (the acting especially) for such a low budget series.
      Omg Carmilla ❤ I really like LaFontaine :3 and Carmilla is the girl equivalent of a typical bad boy which makes me so happy because bad girls 🙂 Are you on Season 2??

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

