Tags

Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag!

It’s past the middle of the year and the thing I’m most proud of is getting a job this summer..lol..which doesn’t sound like a lot to mr. But ANYWAY I’m here to talk about some books, surprisingly. Thank you so much to Anjie @ Love thy Shelf and Erika @ Erika in Bookventureland for tagging me! If you haven’t already, you should totes check out their blogs because they’re just so awesome.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015.

Please tell me you knew this was coming. I’ve been shoving this book down every man, woman, child, robot, and porcupine that has come my way.

Fun Fact: The author picked this cover because it wasn’t clear whether the man was in pleasure or in pain..

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015.

A lot of people are probably sick of me mentioning The Winner’s Crime so I’ll go with PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han. Surprise Surprise, the “love triangle” did not annoy me at all in this book and only this book can make studying at Starbucks appealing :3 especially if you’re studying with someone whose name starts with a “P” and ends with a “eter Kavinsky”.

Fun Fact: I actually own the biology book on the cover.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

Serpentine by Cindy Pon sounds so fucking awesome! It’s YA fantasy revolving around Chinese mythology. Action, adventure, mystery, and romance ensue!! Um..

Fun Fact: This book comes out today so can someone buy it for me and send it my way. Please and thank you.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

I NEED THIS NOW. I ALSO NEED MORE CINDER/KAI NOW.

Fun Fact: Marissa Meyer started the first book Cinder as a Nanowrimo project. I can’t believe how far it’s come.

5. Biggest disappointment.

Tossup between End of Days and The Elegance of the Hedgehog mostly because I was so sure I was going to like them but I ended up not..End of Days was so rushed and nothing developed and some side characters were brought in just for convenience of plot..The Elegance of the Hedgehog was enjoyable in its parts but not in its sum but other could have given more care to the actual story and it was really pretentious.

6. Biggest surprise.

A Game of Thrones by George RR Martin. Biggest surprise in a bad way. I was so sure I would love this book that I was even more disappointed that this book wasn’t even average for me.

Fun Fact: There has been 133 on screen “confirmed” deaths on the Game of Thrones TV show. 116 male. 17 female.

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

This year was the first time I read Margaret Atwood. I read The Handmaid’s Tale and Oryx and Crake which were both amazing, awesome, A+ books. I can’t wait to read more of her books especially The Blind Assassin.

8. Newest fictional crush.

Who is the newest addition to Carolyn’s list of fictional boyfriends hall of fame?

a) Jerricho Barrons from DarkFever

b) Peter Kavinsky from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

c)  Khalid from The Wrath and the Dawn

d) JD Jameson from Practice Makes Perfect

e) All of the above wrapped up in one package and sent to my front door.

You know the answer although if I had to pick it would probably be Khalid.

9. Newest favourite character.

Who is Carolyn’s newest favorite character? Is it,

a) Sharzhad from the Wrath and the Dawn

b) Annamae from Under a Painted Sky

c) Jude from A Little Life

d) Werner from All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

The answer is D although all of the other choices come really really close!! I love Werner because he lived in 1930’s Nazi Germany and he trains to be one of Hitler’s Youth but all he really wants to do is study physics and I love how he’s such a dreamer despite such awful circumstances.

10. Book that made you cry.

I give in..I have to use this book..again..You know that one part in Disney’s Alice in Wonderland where she cries enough to make an ocean? That’s me just at the ending of this book…

11. Book that made you happy.

Firefight makes me happy because I think this story is just so exciting and it reminds me a lot of a fast paced action movie and David and Megan are precious cinnamon rolls that are too precious for this world.

Fun Fact: Calamity is coming out next year which makes me squeal with delight.

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

I haven’t watch that many movie adaptations this year but I have to go with Still Alice. It’s gut wrenching with great acting.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year.

It might seem a little weird but my very first review for this blog (my review for Alex + Ada Vol. 1 & 2). It’s not the best review I’ve ever written but I remember feeling really accomplished after writing it and it kind of reminds me of how far I’ve come when I look at that review and my latest ones and how I’ve improved in writing my book reviews. Plus, I really love that comic series.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received).

I haven’t read this one yet and it’s kind of hard to tell just from looking at it on the computer screen, but the colors are bright but muted at the same time so it gives a sort of old and historic feel to the cover. Of course, I also like the use of some traditional Vietnamese clothing like the straw hat. I’m really excited to read this one because it’s about a man who bikes his way around Vietnam and he talks about all the interesting people he’s met.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

18 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag!

  1. I’m curious as to what you will think of The Old Man and the Sea. HAHA

    And I really need to start reading a Brandon Sanderson book ASAP!

    Thanks for doing the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We should totally try to buddy read Way of Kings, I keep putting that book off due to its monstrous size.

    I can’t find a Kindle version of Serpentine, which makes me SO SAD. Also, it’s sold out on Book Depository *pouts* I really want to read it as well!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It was originally printed as one book, I owned that version but it was too heavy to bring to Oz when I moved here haha. I’ll rebuy the split up editions 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Umm, so how cool is it an author commented on your blog? Those are #goals

    I actually haven’t read a single title from your answers, LOL. But I have your 2015 5 star read on my Goodreads TBR shelf. Also, I’ve seen Serpentine on every Asian blogger’s blog so I may pick that one up too. I’m also really looking forward to Richelle Mead’s Soundless since that one is supposed to incorporate Asian mythology too!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol, so I was creeping your comments when I read this reply. I am excited for your buddy read with Aentee if it goes through. It’s kind of sad neither of us reviewed ADSoM, lol. As the time has been increasing since I’ve read that book, it’s becoming more lackluster and farther from my memory… Lol, that was some confusing and bad English right there. But I hope you know what I meant.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know what you mean! 😦 I’m already forgetting everything except the bare bones of the book. But we should totes do another buddy read whenever school isn’t taking over your life! I think buddy reading ADSoM made it a lot more fun for me 😀 Haters have to hate together 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

