Misc

Used Bookstore Trip: Haul + Tips

My favorite used bookstore by far is Piccolo’s Bookstore (aka the one dollar bookstore) where you guessed it, every single book is $1.00. It’s amazing guys. There’s a decent collection of YA and children’s books with a splattering of manga and a shelf of graphic novels and comics. The adult collection is more expansive including everything from nonfiction to biographies to self-IMG_20150719_172223help to regular fiction. I’m not kidding you when I say I bought some hardcover novels that are usually $20 that are now $1 including the Da Vinci Code with full-color photos. I highly suggest this place but it exists only in Socal :(, here’s the link to all the locations. But with any used bookstore, it can be hard to find exactly what you want so I thought I’d give a few tips to navigating these types of bookstores.

Tips for making the most out of a used bookstore

  • Look for popular authors that have been popular for a while now and have written multiple books
    • Examples: Stephen King, Nicholas Sparks, Stephanie Meyer, Sophie Kinsella, Chuck Palanuik, James Patterson
  • Look for fantasy books that usually come in mass market paperback
    • A lot of urban fantasy series (Kate Daniels, Charlaine Harris)
  • Go in with an open mind 
    • Chances are you will not find that newly released book you wanted but this is your chance to buy books that you’re thinking about reading
    • Books are cheap here so even if you’re not sure you’ll like it, pick it up!IMG_20150719_161410
  • Buy the hardcovers
    • Most of the hardcovers I’ve found have been in perfect or near-perfect condition
  • Make a list by genre
    • Most used bookstores don’t really have a rhyme or reason to their order but some of the ones I’ve been to have ordered them by genre.
  • Store credit!
    • Some used bookstores offer store credit for books you donate so keep an eye out for that
  • Used Bookstore suggestions: Any thrift store (Goodwill), Piccolo Books, Bookman

Book Haul: 

Hardcover (all in near perfect condition):

12875355161156121182291746544340200

Paperback (In very good condition):

161846132

It obviously depends on the day you go; I probably would have gotten more YA if their selection was better that day. And last time I went I got more YA than adult so there’s that. Let me know what your favorite used bookstores are and how you navigate them!

sigfinal

8 thoughts on “Used Bookstore Trip: Haul + Tips

  1. This is really good advice! I missing living near a really good book store. I used to live 3 minutes from the best used bookstore! My wallet misses that store!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Aww, I feel you. The nearest used bookstore here is 20 minutes. I’m closer to a Barnes and Nobles but I don’t have enough money to buy from there and there’s like none near my college which sucks 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have no bookstore near me and my local libraries have stopped booksales. I loved sorting and hunting through all the books. It was good day when you found a book you wanted in hardcover cut done low and also finding a missing book from a series you had. Glad you had a good day at your used-bookstore. Congratulations.
    Marilyn

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my gosh, I went to the exact same bookstore as you did. What is this conspiracy? I wish used bookstores would have more popular, new released YA novels since those are the ones that I gear more toward, since my reading span isn’t as broad yet, but I know you can’t be picky when it comes to great deals like hardcover books for $1.00.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked it! 🙂 And omg I’m so jealous, I want that edition!! It’s always so satisfying when you find a really unexpected book that you’ve been wanting but think it’s never going to be found in a used bookstore.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

