Tags

The Bath and Body Works Tag

Thanks Summer (again) for tagging me! You honestly make me feel so special in the book blogging community. ❤ you. Speaking of shameless promoting, the next time you go to Bath and Body Works, buy the Amazon Orchid hand soap. It smells like Amazon Orchids in the best way possible..even though I’ve never been to the amazon or smelled orchids either..also the hand sanitizer, island nectar, smells heavenly. I’m sorry if they are only seasonal scents o.o Ok, back to our regular programming…

1. Pure Paradise: A book that was simply perfection.

I’m gonna have to go with The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch. This is the third book in the Gentlemen Bastards series and this series is one of my all-time favorite series. This installment had everything I could want in a book: action, adventure, dry wit and humor, amazing friendships, suspense, plot twists, romance, and amazing worldbuilding. I mean even the cover is perfection so..Yeah this fantasy series even tops Brandon Sanderson for me, which is saying a lot.

2. Sweet Pea: A romance/contemporary novel that you really enjoyed.

The Wrong Side of Right by Jean Marie Thorne. I don’t think I’ve read a contemporary with a political side to it. But I really liked that part of it. It’s tone reminded me a little of Parks and Recreation. And there’s a romance between the main character and the president’s son which was really cute.

3. Fresh Strawberries: A book you really enjoyed that came out this year.

The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski. Man, this book still gives me the feels and I read this one like 5 months ago. It went above and beyond anything I could have expected in the second installment. It was amazing and I might have cried throughout half of the book. And I probably would have thrown this book across the wall in frustration (the good kind) if I wasn’t reading this on my Kindle..on my laptop..

4. Warm Vanilla Sugar: A character and/or book that made you feel all warm and smiley.

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. I think I get bonus points because both the book and the main character Lincoln had me smiling to myself the whole time I was reading it. But seriously this book is like bunnies and babies in book form. So cute.

5. Paris Amour: A couple you majorly ship together.

Payton and JD from Practice Makes Perfect by Julie James. It’s one of those love-hate relationships that just works so well. They just have so much history together and the sexual tension was off the roots but more importantly, their mutual respect for the other’s abilities as a lawyer was the best part of their relationship. I hate the typography on the cover though. It’s not Comic Sans but still..

6. Dancing Waters: A book that takes place on a beach/perfect beach read.

The book, Of Poseidon by Anna Banks, immediately came to mind because a lot of it takes place on a beach or in the ocean but it also makes a perfect beach read because it’s a mermaid book that’s fun, quick,  entertaining and cute. It made me fall in love with mermaids all over again.

 Cake Books: Favorite book/character.

How can you expect me to pick a favorite character, that’s impossible. But I recently read A Tale of Two Cities and I’m gonna pick Madam Defarge even though she’s evil. I just really like her character and how warped her mentality was after what the Revolution had done to her.

8. Winter Candy Apple: A book set around Christmas or during winter.

Going back to my roots, The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis. My favorite part of the book for some reason was the part when Father Christmas would come and give the four children Christmas presents. Also, I really like the part when the White Witch manipulates Edmund with Turkish Delight but we don’t need to talk about it, Edmund was just a naïve little boy back then..*cough cough*

9. Beautiful Day: A book with an unusual/interesting/appealing setting.

I will always love the setting in Attack on Titan by Hajime Isayama. I’m just so fascinated by walled cities and all the weapons the citizens use to defeat the Titans. Also, the Titans really make the setting feel scary.

10. Dazzling Diamonds: Gorgeous cover(s).

I’ll probably never read this book but A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray has a gorgeous cover. I’m just a sucker for watercolors in general. I would totally buy a print of the book and frame it on my wall.

I tag:

Evi @ Adventuring Through Pages

Kira @ Fieittyreads

and you!

sigfinal

5 thoughts on “The Bath and Body Works Tag

  1. I SPY ATTACK ON TITAN
    *FAINTS*
    You are too awesome. Also I need to read those Locke Lamora and Winner’s book.
    You my dear are a lady of fantastic taste! Also I wish there was a Bath + Body Works here!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AHHH yes!! Don’t kill me though because I haven’t read past the second volume D: I suck at keeping up with manga series. And yes you do! I think you would really like both of them 🙂
      Thank you!!

      Like

  2. Island nectar is my go-to fragrance for those small hand santizers. You’re so right, it does smell very heavenly! When I first saw it summers ago, it kind of reminded me of PJ actually. You know ambrosia and nectar… XD Ugh, I really want to pick up The Winner’s Curse soon because you and Chooi at Read, Think, Ponder just LOVE it. Hopefully I’ll get to it by the end of 2015! And I used to be interested in mermaid lore as a kid, it started with the Emily Windsnap series. I have that Anna Banks trilogy on my TBR shelf; I’ll read it someday. And aww, Carolyn! You’re really special to me! All of the friends I’ve made through Xingsings, actually. ❤ you too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh I get it! I hadn’t thought of that actually. I’m ashamed since PJ is always on my mind haha.
      LOL omg I read the very first Emily Windsnap and I was literally obsessed with it. I reread it like 50 times. Great minds really do think alike 😉
      And omg yes you need to read The Winner’s Curse asap!! I think you’d really like it! And then we can fangirl together 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh gosh…I knew you’d put Scott Lynch in this post as “perfection”. Sigh. I’m reading the Winner’s Crime right now and I think it’s pretty good so far, except I’m not really a huge fan of slow-paced YA books. 🙂 Nice post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

