Misc · wrap up

Booktubeathon Wrap Up + Currently Reading

I’m sorry this wrap up is so late!! But better late than never?? Best excuse ever..It works for everything. You’re late to my party! Better late than never? You’re late to your own wedding?? Better late than never?

I feel like I kind of cheated a little this booktubeathon because I read a lot of graphic novels/mangas. As for booktubeathon itself, I think I’m kind of indifferent towards readathons because I don’t know, I’m a really big mood reader and I just want to read whatever I want whenever I want. And I find the concept of reading as many books as possible in one week to be kind of pointless? Idk. I’m just rambling now. I completed 4 challenges and read five books.

1// Read a book with blue on the cover
2// Read a book by an author who shares the same first letter of your last name
3// Read someone else’s favourite book
4// Read the last book you acquired
5// Finish a book without letting go of it
6// Read a book you really want to read
7// Read seven books

Monster Vol. 2 & 3 by Naoki Urasawa

7477710Loved these installment! So many twists and turns and I feel like both of these volumes are building up to something epic.

Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed

11487807I have a review here.

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

19547856Don’t kill me but I read 100 pages of this and skimmed the rest. It was cute but I think the writing was a little too juvenile for me. I also felt like there was so much buildup for one character in the novel but then he ended up with someone else…

Sex Criminals Vol. 1 by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky

19536001I’ve mentioned this one a lot already but I also have a review here.

Trees Vol. 1 by Warren Ellis and Jason Howard.

23518316 A solid story with a lot of diverse characters but this volume definitely serves as more of an introduction to the story but the way it ended left things on a cliffhanger that promises more action and story in later volumes. I wasn’t a huge fan of the artwork but that’s just me.

Overall, I’m pretty happy with what I did read so yeah..

Currently Reading:

I just finished reading A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens and I’m kind of in a book hangover. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so attached to characters from a classic before. I’m planning on doing a full review to talk more about it in all it’s glory.

I’m currently reading A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab. I’m more than halfway through so I should be finishing it by this weekend. I’m also reading A Little Life by Hana Yanagihara which was nominated for the Man Booker Prize this year (it’s brilliant so far) and Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal because I love my Jane Austen adaptations.

What are your weekend reads?

sigfinal

12 thoughts on “Booktubeathon Wrap Up + Currently Reading

  1. YOU LIKE MONSTER *SCREAMS* I freaking love Naoki Urusawa! Monster was so creepy and intense! Have you read Pluto? Also another favourite of mine.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhhh ikr?! I never know what’s gonna happen. That basement with all the picture frames *shudders* I’m hoping to like the next installments even more (which is saying something) because I feel like these volumes are just setting up for bigger things. I was kind of annoyed with the way new characters were introduced and then forgotten but I think I realize that they’re basically there to build up Johan’s sinister reputation? I haven’t read Pluto! I was actually thinking of picking up Yawara after this because the premise seems like something I would like.

      Like

  2. “You’re late to your own wedding?? Better late than never?” LOL. I have been to a couple of weddings where the bride was late but I hope that doesn’t happen often. XD

    Ahh, I totally get what you mean by being a mood reader. I’m often the same way. When I wasn’t getting into ADSoM I was worried because of that very reason. (You may have already got my GR message, but yeah, I’m also going to try to finish it today.)

    OH NO. I’m referring to the fact you skimmed Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. I do see what you mean about the writing though. It’s very simple. And after all, you’re the greater critic than me. (Though apparently my average raining on GR is 3.45 which is kind of low? I don’t know anymore, haha.) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually saw this video with Eddie Redmayne on Ellen and he said his wife was half an hour late to her wedding. I was like girl, if I was getting married to Eddie, I would NOT be half an hour late. It’s always hard for me to get into a book at the beginning for some reason but once I do, I get hooked. Wow! I’m actually really surprised at that!! 3.45?? I feel like you usually give books 4 stars..Maybe you’re getting harsher yourself ;p I wish I could have appreciated Simon for what it was but I guess I needed something more..

      Liked by 1 person

      1. awwww the Elias one was cute if a bit offputting. He gave her so many hugs hahaaha..I think I just really like Ellen’s sense of sarcasm..Omg that poor masseuse..lololol “Put your hands on my shoulders”
        I liked the one where she recreated the Titanic scene with herself LOL

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I was surprised by how much I liked it because I wasn’t a huge fan of his writing at the beginning. Have you read any other Dickens? I want to read more of his works but don’t know which one to read. Yeah! The cover is kind of trippy lol

      Like

      1. If you only read one other Dickens book, check out Great Expectations. Like most of his books, it’s pretty long, around 500 pages. Miss Havisham is a particularly interesting character, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

