wrap up

July 2015 Wrap Up Part 2: The Short Stories/Graphic Novels

Ugh, it is like a desert right now. Why is it so hot??

Either way, I think I need to start doing weekly wrap ups for August because these wrap ups are getting out of hand. Here are all the graphic novels and short stories/novellas I read this month!

Graphic Novels

17346698223584621746557420898019

March Book 1– I have a review here.

Nailbiter Vol. 1– Warning: This book is gory and bloody. Eerie and action-packed plot. Kind of meh on the character department.

Blue is the Warmest Color– I feel like the drama in this story was too sensationalized but other than that, I thought it was subtly beautiful and heartbreaking.

Ms. Marvel Vol. 1– Taken from my Goodreads:

-Too much “not like other girls” vibe which is annoying
-has a very middle-school/younger high school vibe to it(can be a good or bad thing depending on the reader)
-said vibe comes from oversimplification of the moral messages of the novel
-said moral messages can be a bit preachy at times
-I love the representation of geeky girls because you don’t get to see that a lot in fiction 🙂

Ms. Marvel Vol. 2– I really liked this one more than the first volume! A lot of my questions about how she got her powers were answered in this one. I also thought the bad guy actually served more of a purpose in this novel being Kamala’s foil. Her parents also got a tiny bit more character development which I appreciate. The action and plot developments also picked up really well.

Short Stories/Novellas

2016881623128304107805131874355522738563

A Year and a Day in Old Theradane (from the Rogues anthology edited by George RR Martin and Gardner Dozois)– SCOTT. LYNCH. IS. LIFE. I will read anything and everything he writes. I will read his rough drafts, his fucking grocery lists for all I care.

The Strange Library– I’ve been meaning to read Haruki Murakami for so long now and this novella was so strange but so intriguing and well written. I can’t wait to read his novels.

Ember by Bettie Sharpe– An erotica retelling of Cinderella. lol. I did really like the subversions of the original fairy tale and I did really like the magical aspects of the novella. Unfortunately, it suffers from not so well written instalove. I liked the relationship between Ember and her sisters.

How to Date a Brown Girl– I love, love Junot Diaz’s writing. So much that I immediately picked up his novel from the library the day after I read this short story.

We Should All be Feminists– No, I still have not read Americanah but I really, really need to. This isn’t a short story; it’s a transcript and modified version of a TED talk that Adichie did some time ago. If you want an introduction to feminism and why we need it, please, please watch her TED talk. It’s beautiful and informative in a way that encompasses the human experience.

Phew, I am planning on doing a graphic novel recommendation post this week so I can go into depth with more of these. Hope everyone is doing well on the booktubeathon and happy rest of the week!

sigfinal

8 thoughts on “July 2015 Wrap Up Part 2: The Short Stories/Graphic Novels

  1. Oooh, it looks like you read some pretty awesome graphic novels and short stories! 🙂

    Is Blue is the Warmest Colour graphic? I know the movie is pretty vivid in its portrayal of sex and sexuality, but I’m curious about the differences between the book and the movie.

    Also, Murakami is awesome! His writing is surreal and wonderful, though it may come off a bit weird – you just have to roll with it and don’t let preconceptions stop you from having fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would say it has some explicit scenes and the explicit scenes are pretty explicit (like full body including genitalia and all that, also oral sex and orgasms and the like lol) but I haven’t seen the movie so I don’t really know how they would compare. Definitely no fade to black LOL
      Do you have any recommendations for where to start with Murakami? I’ve heard of IQ84 before any of his other works but now I’m not really sure which one to start with.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahahaha!! Well, I haven’t watched the movie either but my friend was quite specific in her details when she told me about it! XD

        It depends what you like! I haven’t read 1Q84, but my first book by him was Norwegian Wood, and it remains my favourite (maybe it’s a first time bias thing). Norwegian Wood is more mundane compared to his other ones – his other works contain magical realism or surrealism, whereas ‘Norwegian Wood’ and, another one that I really liked, ‘South of the Border West of the Sun’, does not. My other favourite would be ‘Hardboiled Wonderland and the End of the World’, and ‘Kafka on the Shore’. Both are quite slow, but are very philosophical and introspective. Definitely worth a read though!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I was actually thinking of starting with Norwegian Wood! But to be honest, I’ve only heard of a couple of his books like sputnik sweetheart, iq84, and the windup bird chronicle so I’ll be sure to check out his more introspective novels 🙂

        Like

      3. Norwegian Wood would be a good start! You’ll get an idea of his writing style, and then you can dip into his more surrealist novels! 🙂

        Like

  2. So I went to the beach yesterday and it was so hot. So, yes, what’s with this scorching weather? 😛 LOL, I would not have expected Ember to be a retelling from the cover alone. You had a really good month in terms of reading, lol. Your “read” pile will always be #goals. 😉

    By the way, how are you like ADSoM?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know I’m actually kind of ready for winter lol except the weather will probably stay the same as it is now here in socal..-_-
      Hehe thanks! 🙂
      I’m liking it so far! From the things I’ve read, it’s mostly worldbuilding rn. I’m on the third section of the book “Grey Thief”
      I think Kell is really interesting so far too but I wanna know more about what his magic can do

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m honestly not that far into the book still… but I’m hoping to get a lot of good reading done tomorrow! 😀
        And me too, I’m especially enjoying the writing. The imagery is really well done and vivid!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

