book review

Book Review: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

FINALBOOKTEMPLATE

5899779Author: Seth-Grahame Smith

Synopsis: Goodreads

Pages: 319

Rating: tealstartealstartealstartealstar

_________________________________________________________________________________________

An alternate universe where Elizabeth Bennet is a trained zombie killer? YES PLEASE. You will either hate or love this book. And much of the enjoyment of this novel depends on how much you love the original Pride and Prejudice. Essentially, this book takes the original text of the P&P and inserts a zombie storyline into it.

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains. Never was this truth more plain than during the recent attacks at Netherfield Park, in which a household of eighteen was slaughtered and consumed by a horde of the living dead.

See what I mean?

The plot unfolds how you might expect it to with a few twists and turns but don’t expect anything revolutionary. I initially was disappointed because I thought PPZ was going to be a complete retelling of PP with changes in character and plot but it’s not. It’s less of a retelling and more of a zombie add-in.This entire book is like a running gag bordering between satire and parody. To me, it works because it never takes itself too seriously and it adds a healthy dose of humor and action to the original canon. I liked getting to learn more about how the zombies have affected each character’s life and the worldbuilding–how the zombies have infected Regency England–was just plain fun to read about.

If you like Pride and Prejudice, I recommend it! If you don’t, I would still recommend it because how could you not want to read about Lady Catherine and her dojo of ninja assassins?? Also, the movie is going to be released next year!

sigfinal

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

    1. I agree! Once I realized it was just suppose to be a fun twist, I really enjoyed myself! I cant wait either especially since Lily James is playing Elizabeth I really liked her inCinderella!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hmmmm, this is so different. Looks and sounds interesting. I’d have to read Pride and Prejudice first.. Ahhh I know xD I’m like the very few in the book blogging community that has never read it lol. I’ve seen the movie though lol not an excuse. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha you should read it then if only to get all the references to Darcy lol. I actually haven’t read it in a while but I feel like I know the story by heart because I love the retellings and the movies and the Lizzie Bennet diaries web series but Emma is my favorite Austen so far 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha I loved the Darcy in the movie so I know I’ll love him in the books. Ahhh, I haven’t read a Jane Austen novel yet xD. I have some though (Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, and Mansfield’s Park) just haven’t gotten to them yet lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

