Tags

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

unpopular template

I’ve been meaning to do this tag for a while now. Please know that, obviously, I do not mean to offend anyone with my answers and this are just my opinions. This tag was created by TheBookArcher over on Youtube and it’s such a fun tag. Maybe I just really like unpopular opinions..probably because I have so many of my own…

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

I have several but I’m gonna go with two.

630433516056408

I thought Beautful Creatures was a little too long-winded and the characters were so bland and boring. There were also too many long flashbacks for my taste. And where do I even start with Easy. I really, really don’t understand why people like this book. It’s has cliche plot tropes, stereoptypical characters (including the gay best friend ugh), rape for contrived drama, painful predictability and mediocre writing.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. It seems that everyone hates Alice in Wonderland but I love it. I think the general complaint is that it’s a bit too whimsical and makes absolutely no sense but I think that’s precisely the point. Alice wants to be sensible; she tries to reason her way through things logically but the backdrop is Wonderland where literally nothing makes sense. I just think it’s so imaginative without making me feel like the author just randomly spit out everything random that comes to his head.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

*Spoilers for the Virals series by Kathy and Brendan Reichs* Ben and Tory from the Virals series. They’re better off as friends imo.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

Paranormal Romance. A lot of the paranormal romances I’ve read were just a little too angsty and I often don’t like how the imbalance of power in the romance is offset by one of the characters in the pairing turning into a paranormal creature..that’s just in my experience though.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Jace Wayland. He’s often portrayed as an aloof, arrogant, snarky guy but he’s also so whiny and a little too melodramatic. If he were the main male love interest in a contemporary, he would be an emo punk rock singer. 

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

Colleen Hoover. This is a little unfair since I’ve only read Maybe Someday but everyone says it’s her best book. If I don’t like her best book, how can I like her other books? But her other books don’t really sound appealing. They sound like a manifestation of everything wrong with the NA category and doesn’t sound like something for me.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

I don’t know if this counts as a book trope but I’m so, so, so, so sick of fantasy authors creating settings where women are second-class citizens. Your damn book has dragons in it but women are still inferior to men?? Have some imagination.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Vampire Academy. It’s probably a good book series but I don’t know why I have no urge to read them. Maybe it’s because it’s a long series. Maybe because of those hideous

and

disgusting

covers.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

The Help. I adore the book but I think the movie edges out just a tiny bit. The acting is so wonderful; I love everything about it. Plus, Emma Stone is mah girl crush. She is thebomb.com.

And it spawned probably my favorite quote ever:

What would your answers be to these questions? Let me know! =)

sigfinal

2 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. I agree with you with Beautiful Creatures. I read it a really long time ago but I remember it not being as good as I wanted it to be. Ben was pretty annoying in Terminal and I wanted Tory and Ben to stay as friends as well. In the first three books when they were actually friends, it was really good. Well, nice tag.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah honestly he’s the main reason I didn’t like the book :// He’s even more annoying than Chance. It didn’t even need the romance. Like I feel like they just added the romance just to have some. Thanks!!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

