favorites · Misc

I’m 21! Fictional Drinks I want to Try

So yesterday I turned 21! I had a great time eating at a sushi restaurant with my friends and having my first legal drink (gin martini). Why not spread the love to some fictional beverages (alcoholic and non-alcoholic so there’s something for everyone)?

Alcoholic Beverages

Rise and Fall of Empires from the short story A Year and a Day in Old Theradane by Scott Lynch.

A thick glass containing nine horizontal layers of rose-tinted liquors, each layer inhabited by a moving landscape. These varied from fallow hills and fields at the bottom to great cities in the middle layers to a ruin dotted waste on high, topped by clouds of foam. 

Sounds like a piece of art. I would totally order one because it would probably taste very interesting but also make a fab instagram picture.

11

The Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster from The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. 

It is a cocktail invented by Zaphod Beeblebrox, “the effect of drinking it is compared to having your brains beaten out with a gold brick wrapped in a slice of lemon, based on ‘Old Janx Spirit'”.

I adore this book but one shot of this is probably enough for me..

Whiskey from The Adventures of Tintin.

No, I have not tried whiskey and Captain Haddock drinks this like water so why not have a chat with him over whiskey?

Non-Alcoholic Beverages

This picture is from Feast of Fiction Youtube channel episode where they made Ambrosia and nectar

Nectar from Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. What’s not to like about this drink. It literally turns into your favorite flavor. In The Lightning Thief, Percy drank some and he describes it as tasting like his mother’s blue chocolate chip cookies, which sounds delicious.

The Drink Me Potion from Alice in Wonderland. Probably the most recognizable drink in classic literature. It tastes like a mixture of  cherry tart, custard, pineapple, roast turkey, toffy, and hot buttered toast which sounds like the most random combination of ingredients ever but it sounds very interesting to drink so why not. And I can see some uses to shrinking if only for a time.

Frobscottle from The BFG. It can make me fly. Enough said.

Felix Felicis from Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. I don’t think I need to explain why I would want to drink this one. And the recipe sounds really easy…

  1. Add Ashwinder egg to cauldron, then add horseradish and heat.
  2. Juice a squill bulb, add to the cauldron and stir vigorously.
  3. Chop up anemone-like growth on the back of Murtlap, add to mixture and heat.
  4. Add a dash of tincture of thyme and stir slowly.
  5. Grind up Occamy eggshell and add to mixture.
  6. Stir slowly then heat the cauldron.
  7. Add a sprinkle of powdered common rue.
  8. Stir vigorously then heat the cauldron one last time.
  9. Wave wand over potion in a figure of eight and say incantation ‘Felixempra!’

Who doesn’t keep an Ashwinder egg in their pantry?? I have, like, 5.

What are some fictional drinks you want to try?

sigfinal

16 thoughts on “I’m 21! Fictional Drinks I want to Try

  1. Happy (somewhat belated) Birthday, Carolyn! I wouldn’t mind getting my hands on the Drink Me potion from Alice in Wonderland, it would be nice to see what it’s like to be tall. And of course, some Felix Felicis always sounds nice. I’d love to try some Butterbeer as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whoop, whoop! Happy birthday, Carolyn! I’m all about the Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster because I love the Hitchhiker’s Guide series so much and because that green, midori-liquer-type drink looks delicious and refreshing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved the first book and I want to continue on to the next book. Have you read Adams’ other series ? the Holistic detective agency or something like that? Yes, I really like the color green as a drink haha idk why though. It just looks something that I would drink at the beach. And thank you so much E.B.! 🙂

      Like

  3. Douglas Adams writes with the such a friendly, engaging voice, yes, I did venture into the Dirk Gently series, but I don’t remember reading past the first book. Not that it was bad, maybe just because I was just looking for more of the Hitchhiker’s Guide that made me so happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ikr, my life would be so much easier with a couple of bottles of Felix Felicis lol. *Sees potential bae from across the room* -quickly downs a Felix Felicis- :3
      And thank you so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

