Miscellaneous

Scholastic Warehouse Book Sale Experience + Thoughts

On Friday, I went to a Scholastic Warehouse Book Sale and it was awesome. If you don’t know what this is, it is basically a sale hosted by the publishing company Scholastic where they sell books for super cheap. And I’m talking suuuupper cheap. There are several across the country during different periods of the year. I don’t know the timing but I feel as though they are random. I attended the one in Anaheim, California. All the dates and locations can be found here. I apologize in advance for these really, really bad photos lol. I’m not a good photographer and that was combined with the fact that I felt weird taking pictures in there.

When I walked in, this worker asked me if I wanted a box to fill up with books all for $24.97. Basically, you put in as many books as you can fit into this box and you get it all for $24.97. However, you can only put books in your box from a certain section of the warehouse. About 80 percent of the warehouse is not eligible for the box so that sucked. No wonder why it sounded too good to be true. Le sigh. And the 20 percent that were eligible for the box were things like the Jonas Brothers fangirl guide from like 2007. Which you know, I might have wanted in..2007 when the Jonas Brothers were still a hot thing.

11650620_10206064437706444_526642657_n

Everything from the warehouse on is 50 percent off. Everything. Unless it says this is only 20 percent off but those are only some books. They even have special discounts where the final price is $5, $4, even $1 which means you pay only half of those prices.

11651096_10206064454066853_374931152_n11124260_10206064446066653_1867367741_n11653359_10206064448546715_1156309610_n

Most of the books here are for children and middle grade kids, however, there is a decent selection of YA books but very few adult books. Though I do regret not getting a copy of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies for only $0.50. That was because I literally went back to the cash register twice and I felt like I was bothering the cash register lady and just as I was about to leave the warehouse, I saw a copy lying around, hidden behind some other books..#problemsofanawkwardcollegegirl

I got two books but I believe I would have gotten at least 10 if I wasn’t on a very tight budget at the moment. I honestly could have stayed there for longer but it was SOOOO hot in the warehouse. The fans there were as helpful as pinwheels in 90 degree weather. On top of that, I felt hungry so I felt like I was about to faint.

11655607_10206064433786346_248054555_n
The red sticker said $5 as the final price which means I paid $2.50 for it. Crazy. Normally these graphic novels are 10 dollars a piece.

I saw a lot of parents and their kids there so if you are a parent looking for some great deals, I highly suggest going. It’s mostly meant for teachers and school staff but you can easily get in even if you don’t work at a school. Overall, I was really satisfied and I’m planning to go again when they have another one close to me.

Have any of you been to any of these book warehouse sales? If so, is it only Scholastic that does these?

Leave a Reply

