Book Recommendations

Book Recommendations: Pick-Me-Ups

I’ve been turning a lot to books lately to feel better. There’s nothing better than a good book to escape all your troubles and worries away. Here are some of the books I turn to when I’m having a bad day.

1. Harry Potter

I’m not really kidding when I say Hogwarts is almost like a second home. Rowling’s descriptions of Hogsmeade and butterbeer during winter break and just magic in general just make feel me cozy and happy. I lose myself in the day-to-day fiascos that Harry, Ron, and Hermione get into and everything is fine.

2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This book is the perfect form of escape. Morgenstern’s writing is some of the most lyrical and magical prose I’ve ever read. I literally feel transported when I read her book. I love all the magical illusions that happen and I love the other-wordliness of this book. Btw, when is the movie coming out?

3. I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

A romantic comedy in book form; it doesn’t get more pick-me-up than that. I love the humor and wit in this book but I also fell in love with the fluffy romance and the hilarious yet endearing characters, Poppy and Sam. It has all the ingredients of a regular romantic comedy but the execution of cliched tropes are done so well. I dare you not to smile during this book. If this book were a stuffed animal, this would be me:

4. Calvin and Hobbes comics

These comics are for the days you feel no one understands you or if you just wanna feel like a kid in an adult’s body. I love the sketchy artwork and you can’t really help but laugh at and with Calvin for all the shenanigans he gets into with Hobbes.

2 thoughts on “Book Recommendations: Pick-Me-Ups

Leave a Reply

