Recommendations

Saturday Recommendations (Serial): Orphan Black

Seasons: 2 (10 episodes each)

Genre: Science Fiction Thriller

Status: 3rd Season airing April 18th, 2015

Favorite Episodes: Unconscious SelectionVariations Under Domestication, To Hound Nature in Her in Her Wanderings

Favorite Character(s): Sarah Manning, Felix and Allison Hendrix

When I had my blog on my Tumblr, I recommended something (it didn’t have to be a book) on Saturdays. If you want to look at my other recommendations, it will be on my recommendations page. This Saturday, in honor of the season 3 premiere, I decided to write one of my favorite TV shows in recent years: Orphan Black. Not surprisingly, I discovered this amazing show on Tumblr, read the synopsis on Wikipedia and binge watched Season 1 because that’s how I get addicted to a show. I even want a pop figurine of the characters.

Orphan Black is about a conwoman named Sarah Manning who one day witnesses a woman committing suicide by the train tracks. After stealing her bag, she discovers that this woman uncannily looks a LOT like her. They could have been twins. Come to find out, they were clones. Chaos ensues from there as Sarah uncovers a conspiracies involving her and her fellow clones.

Tatiana Maslany plays all of these clones and she breathes life into each of these characters. I’m not kidding when I say that it feels like a different actress is playing each clone. Maslany makes every gesture and voice distinct and unique to the character. I don’t know how she does it. Each of these clones are some of the most fascinating and unique characters that I’ve seen in a drama in a long time. At first, they seem like a caricature of characters you’ve seen before, the soccer mom, the badass who doesn’t let anyone in emotionally, the scientist, but they prove to be so much more.The relationships that these clones develop is complex and dynamic.

In additional to fantastically developed characters, Orphan Black also has a fast-paced, action-filled plot with twists and turns in every episode while exploring what it means to be a clone. What the battle between religion and science and science incorporated into religion is. To be an individual.

As always, I want to mention how wonderful Orphan Black is at portraying females. They are found in all facets of society and the show embraces and even celebrates how complicated they really are. There is no token female anywhere. There is an equal balance of male and female characters. And the beauty is, if you don’t like one female character, there’s numerous other choices to pick from and often with shows, when you have only one or two female characters, they are expected to represent the whole of females everywhere.

If you have Amazon Prime, you can watch Orphan Black on Amazon. I can’t stress enough how awesome this show is. Watch it! I’m anxiously awaiting the season 3 premiere in T minus 2 hours!

Leave a Reply

